‘Come and get me!’

White to play and win??

How would you play White from this position, starting with move 15?

White to move

It looks like there should be a win, but even Crafty goes for some half-lame move of Qf2, winning that b6 pawn, but ultimately losing back the pawn advantage playing against itself.

I get a lot of these sorts of games, and it’s often just as dangerous to attack the other player in these situations.

The  other thing that oft goes unsaid is that when someone plays this way against you, hold firmly in mind that they are challenging you on the clock, and that perhaps all you can expect from an advantage is a pawn from a tenous position.  That said, bearn in mind that you will need time for the endgame!

The continuation is below.  I wouldn’t consider this a ‘real’ result as I beat him with the ‘boredom attack’.  This a phenomenon where one player suddenly stops and takes forever, whereupon the other player quickly tosses out a reply, rightly showing that they do not have such indecisive personality tendencies, only to thereupon blunder greatly with the ensuing move.  He flicked out …f6, immediately losing:

http://chessflash.com/blog/219

7 thoughts on “‘Come and get me!’

  1. In the game your opp played it all wrong.
    Rb8 looks more normal then Ra7 and playing up the d-pawn instead of the f-pawn is also more natural in my eyes. Anyway, you made good use of your opponents blunders!

  2. I would consider combined pieces/pawns attack on the kingside, maybe even something like g4, f5, sacrificing e5 pawn and opening lines. The attack should be “fast and furious”, using the advantage in space and the fact, that white outnumber black in the center/kingside.

  3. Rollingpawns, I think the reply to g4 would be d6, when the bishop on c8 now also gets added as a defender of f5.

    I wanted to go kingside too, but followed the Silman Rule, go where the other guy ain’t! (or essentially what he just undefended, but is still also a meaningful target).

    In that vein, I’m liking the sort of move that Crafty would probably like, namely Na4. Those pawns on the Qside are a target whether he pushes them or not, not enough pieces/defenders there and some pins.

    This I would play after Bf3/Ra7. The reason he played the rook to a7 is because Rb8 gives my Nc6 NxN BxN, and I win his d-pawn immediately. Both I and Crafty saw this line, and it’s the original one that I had planned on.

    If he follows with Bb7, I play Nb3, attacking b6 and defending the d-file. I have no idea how crazy this is, but I think at one point even Crafty did some bizarre Q-side knight maneuvers. I’m just doing them a whole lot earlier, without all the sturm-und-drang.

    Actually, look at what your opponent’s last move just undefended, I learned that from Josh Waitzkin. Waitzkin also taught me the principle of speeding up your opponent’s attack before he/she has the attack fully ready (on one of his videos with some chess game). He’s an awesome teacher, IMHO.

  4. I see. Yeah, his queenside looks weak, so is legitimate target. I like to attack these crammed positions with closed center, so, frankly, I didn’t pay attention to the queenside.

  5. At the time, I was worried about d6. Looking back on it, it looks like he is just losing here after Bf3…Ra7, then Nb3 with idea of Na4 (the Qf2 idea was also playable). It’s looking now like Karpovesque win for White.

Leave a Reply

