Another successful tournament

But I feel bad about it since I really beat myself in the game I lost (You know it’s bad when you could have beat yourself. hehe). I lost 2 tempos against a 1900 players with a solid style. If I had played the move I was going to play I would have had those tempos, but instead messed up by making a “safe-looking” move, first. I should not have been intimidated, drats.

Against the 1954 player, I was lost because of his brilliant combo, but he decided not to exchange queens, and then I clawed out a win with the better late-middlegame/endgame technique.

Last game was against a guy, about 1526 (don’t know if that’s current, or if it is lower now). He lost the exchange, just missed seeing it, but he was at least fine if not better, and he resigned immediately, very, very early in the game, and then left.

My pre-tournament, current rating was about 1674, so I should be over 1700 now, but got very lucky in that first game. I even spent half an hour looking at a combo before I came to the conclusion that it wouldn’t work. Could have just as easily lost rating points, so I am sort of frustrated by my mistake, a tired mistake really, but objectively it turned out quite well.

Next time I play that guy I lost to, I am going to be so gunning for him it will be ridiculous. I should have lost to the guy I won against, and I really want to beat this guy I lost to. I’ve played him twice before, and he always goes for that tiny winning advantage that I stupidly hand over to him. It’s starting to piss me off. hahaha.

Mar28, Round1 – The game I won. Now I realize how awful we both played it. Ra2, instead of Rb1, would have given me a slight advantage (instead of a big one for him).

I am White:
http://chessflash.com/node/578

It takes me a long time to recreate these games, as I think I left my scorepad there, and my handwriting is so bad that I keep them all in short-term memory, and then play them out on a board in order to recreate it.

Round 2, I am Black
http://chessflash.com/node/579

I played this game like the tired scaredy-pants that I was. I was amazed at how much of my analyses was correct, and when it wasn’t it was because I was “taking his word for it”, that he played the right move. Shoot, he was right, I should have won the exchange (and the game). I did see the back-rank threat on the next move. Jeez, he missed all sorts of stuff and I was false defensive/afraid of my opponent.

The scary realization I’m shockingly coming to, is that I’m the one some of these players should be afraid to play, but didn’t realize it myself until just now. You could see it in the round 1 game how passive I started out, like a lamb waiting for the slaughter. hehe.

Round 3, I am White:
http://chessflash.com/node/580

Like I told him after the game, he should have played …Re8 with the …e5 push, and that I should have played Ne2 instead of Nf3 earlier, was playing over-aggressive instead. My opponent looked like he could barely keep his eyes open and had just turned his completely winning ending into a draw during the previous round, so I guess he was completely gassed. He actually beat me last time we played when I was gassed and blundered a rook to him. I was no where near that tired and easily won some blitz games afterward to someone else, and analyzed with some other players, etc.

7 thoughts on “Another successful tournament

  1. Congratulations on a good result!
    I looked at the games:
    1st game you played very well after move 20, 24. Nd6+ was great, he can’t take it because of Rxe6! In the 2nd game, frankly, I think you were under strong attack most of the time, didn’t see you winning exchange, can you comment? 3rd game is self-explainable, no comment. What was the time control?

  2. That’s right, Bf4 was my plan, but mainly was just doing it to reach an opposite-colored bishop endgame. He should have exchanged queens on b2, earlier, for an easy win (or at least an easy win for me, as Black).

    Time-control was 30/90, then G/30, so 2 hrs essentially, per player. That second game, I knew I was taking a huge chance by not taking my usual break after the first game. This was compounded by the fact that by the end of the game I had only a few minutes left and he had over an hour. He kept up the pressure on the board and on the clock.

    When I played e5, I could see him shake his head as if to say it was bad (later he claimed my strategy was all bad and that move was a mistake, and I said I was shooting for the bishop trade that I got). Looking at Crafty, I was clearly the one that was right. I almost played h6 on a couple moves, as well as Nce7, as well as RxR, all moves crafty saw. he even disagreed with my analysis of some move continuations, but Crafty agree.

    Clearly my attitude going into the next game will be that I should really be beating him, or at least drawing him. He makes the obvious moves quickly, but he is not making all the strongest moves, and his strategy being refutational is mostly in his head, I think. I think I had the more clever strategy for that game, even though I failed to execute it in many instances. Next time, I will simply find one of his moves to jump on, play confident defense, and then collect these advantages. He should be easy for me to get advantages against, but I need to find that refutational move in each game (probably I can find a couple) as his pure endgame strength is pretty strong, and not reflected in this game. So a big part of his strength is that even if I get an advantage he will hold on tough for a draw in the ending.

    I was simply trying to hang in there, and play along with his ideas, and was not “calling him on it.” – which is all I really needed to do to get the win. I’ve played others, like that game with McKay last time on the French, where he was even solid with Crafty – very tough positionally.

    I was half an hour late to the club, that is why I decided to skip my break. I need to be more disciplined because if I play well, I will get a strong opponent in each round with the swiss-style format. There are other formats on other weeks which are simply round-robin, but which I was avoiding in order to face these tougher players.

    26 Ne7 wins the exchange because of the back-rank mate threat against him.

  3. I almost tried my Be6 system against him, so I’ll try that next time, something like this:
    1. e4 e6 2. d3 d5 3. Nd2 c5 4. Ngf3 Nf6 5. Be2 Be7 6. O-O Nc6 7. c3 O-O 8.
    Qc2 Qc7 9. Re1 h6 10. Nf1 e5 11. Ng3 d4 12. c4 Be6 13. Bd2 Rab8 14. a3 b5 15. cxb5 Rxb5
    *

    He’ll probably be shaking his head as if some no-no has taken place. Perfect, the play is on my end, he can shake his head or finger all he wants.

    My other choice is to play a Q-side castling system, but I think the Be6 one is the most solid, so I’ll probably try that one first, just need the guts to play the Be6 system. 0-0-0 would be a more natural choice for me, win or lose. I’m starting to become a little more of a universal player, though, in the French, so I should be okay.

  4. Well done for winning the tournament.

    In game 1 you got your pieces working together well.
    In game 2 Rolling pawns was correct you were under attack very early, and was always defending. I thought you held him off well.
    Game 3 it would be nice if more games where like that one.

    Breaks are important as they have a knock on effect later,but life is life.
    If we did everything we were sppose to life would be boring.

Leave a Reply

