Lucenna again

I probably get this position at least once out of every 100 games, and probably more so.

Here is the problem I have with caring about my online rating; I lost this game in the opening, but won it back because my opponent didn’t know Lucenna, and didn’t play the endgame confidently. Okay, I hope he learned something from my valuable instruction time, but I probably didn’t get anything out of this game, and certainly got no fix for this lingering opening-hole, other than to suggest going back to the Ruy Lopez opening.

I meant to play 21. a4 instead of c4, simply moved too quickly. Either way, the game should be his but I’d say his level of play in this game went downhill once he started putting his pawns on the light squares (the bishop threats on that diagonal were now blocked by his pawns, and perhaps his king could have got over to the queenside with a rook to cover behind the king.

Lucenna again

5 thoughts on “Lucenna again

  1. The book line is 7. Be2 Bxc3 8. bxc3 Kd8 55.9 % 17.5 % 26.6 %, so “Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water” :). Sure, this Steinitz’s move 4….Qh4 tough to refute having 15/G. As I often get bad position as Black I should play it.
    Regarding Lucena – I think he could try to get Philidor position after move 63, because his king was actually not cut off. See my last comment on my blog about that one, got it today. You see, it worth to learn the classics, told you :).

  2. Nice work with the e pawn.
    I tell my chess club children if you have a past endgame pawn (position like this)push it and defend it.
    Make your opponent work to stop it queening.
    As in your case a piece is most times given up to stop a queen.
    Some children grasp this thinking very quickly others cant remember it when they get to these positions.
    Again another attacking game.

  3. For me you played the opening well. You got your pieces out and your king in safety while getting control of the centre although that last one didn’t last the entire game.

    Then somehow you went the wrong way. Try to find out what you were thinking there and how to fix it.

    Anyway, you fought back and got a won endgame what you didn’t mess up so congrats with the win!

  4. Thanks!

    Wow, I really got down on myself in that game. When I looked at RP and Crafty’s advice of Be2, I was thinking “and what after Qxg, Bf3?” Sure enough, I didn’t give it any consideration, but it defends the rook and forces queen move, so as to be able to play Nxc+ wins the rook on a8.

    Chesstiger, in the game I almost played Ba7, but then noticed Ra8, then BxB RxB, light bishop moves back, although even in the game Black was threatening Nc4, but perhaps I should have been thinking BxN on c4, doubling his pawn there.

    That’s fascinating, Chessx, that some kids remember it and some don’t. The dangerous endgame players are the ones that are always looking to sack a piece for a pawn, knowing they can try to advance their own pawn towards promotion. A lot depends on where the king is in the endgame, he suddenly becomes a valuable piece.

  5. Nicely done on the ending. He made it really easy for you, so that you didn’t even have to go through building the bridge to get the pawn in. It’s good to know how to convert that position, epsecially with little time on your clock.

Leave a Reply

