How I blundercheck

I have a bit of ambivalence about this, but I’ll post it anyway. I pulled it, but everyone’s updater said I posted something yesterday, so I’ll put it back. The thing is, like on FICS, but even at tournaments with faster time-controls, people will use the clock as a weapon, when that happens, or if you are playing a typical online game such as 15 0 or 15 5, there is not enough time to do any of this. What I am saying is that what I put below is what raises my OTB rating, but my online rating is crap because people blitz and I reserve the right to suck at blitz and be alright OTB. I think people who like to say that Blitz correlates to OTB are probably GM’s that like matches to be decided by blitz playoff games.

How I Blundercheck

What do I mean by “blundercheck”? I mean, assuming this isn’t some crap-shoot time-scramble, that you play the move in your head before you do it on the board. I’ll be more specific, when I make “the move”, I first make it in my mind and then pretend that my opponents clock is now running, and he is looking for a move, and then I look for his best cheapo continuations (some cheapo’s are considerably positionally elaborate, yes; in fact most of them are positional first, and tactical second, as that is the basis for all tactics).

This isn’t all that I do when I analyze, it’s simply the most critical part when it comes to attaining rating points.

When it comes to my whole process, first I find a move that I like, which usually jumps out at me, then I analyze it for soundness. Then I look for other possible moves to become candidate moves. I usually narrow it down quickly to two candidate moves. I analyze both of their continuations and then I usually know which one that I like better. Then, I do my blundercheck described above.

A better blundercheck is my best advice for attaining Class A player level. When I was a D player I once asked an A player, whom I admired, how to get to that level and his reply was “stop dropping pieces” and he wasn’t talking about any of my games.

3 thoughts on “How I blundercheck

  1. Good mental disicipline is needed move after move.
    Thats where players go wrong, not doing this every move and getting stuck on a one track thought.

    I dont know about “blundercheck” if you play over my games its check the blunder!!!!!

  2. I liked your phrase: “I reserve the right to suck at blitz and be alright OTB” :). Your procedure looks right, as chessx said – “good mental discipline is needed” to apply it consistently, otherwise you relax, the move is obvious – bang! and then you are like Kasparov in that youtube clip (you probably saw it):

  3. lmao! So sad.

    Chess is such a hard game, I feel so sorry for Garry. I think we all know the feeling, particularly in time-pressure.

    I don’t think fast enough at times, has nothing to do with chess, but some will positively rejoice as soon as that they sense that weakness in me. Thanks for agreeing with me RP as you are AMAZING at blitz speeds. I “can’t hold a candle to you”, as the saying goes, at blitz. Then again, you’ve probably learned how to “choose your battles” during a blitz game, as well.

    As I study openings, I am trying to go more for strategic positions/openings, such as you do with your Bb5 Sicilian. Trying harder to see if I can win from those positions.

    ChessX, you are so funny! 🙂 Yes, I am incredulous when I see that quick move from an opponent, moving a piece to an ideal square with no blundercheck.

Leave a Reply

