Foolish attack

I was playing Neal again, 1900ish player. I got a Scotch game as White and just about jumped out of my shoes, couldn’t contain myself (irrational exuberance) and lost.

I played g4 and realized after Bxg that the combo didn’t work and was losing a pawn. RxB NxR Rg1 Bf6! Qe3 BxNc3 gxB Nf6.

So, instead of calmly playing on a pawn down with a nice attack, I suddenly went into ‘berzerk’ mode and tried to scare him a bit. But instead of playing …g6, he calmly realized that even if I win his light-squared bishop back, it will cost me another pawn. Doh! It was worse than that because he later played …Bh5, so I never did get that bishop back, and his next move …Ng4 was decisive.

He rightly pointed out after the game that I should have prepared that attack with Kb1 and h3, as I had a strong advantage (or at least he thought so). I thought he could castle queenside, but he said he couldn’t. He used about 12 minutes for the game, and I used 59 minutes. It definitely affects my play, the clock time. I am thinking of playing in the G/60 tournament on Saturday, but what if I have 8 minutes late in the game or something and see a possibility? Will I keep my cool and play it, or avoid complications for the sake of time? I would hope that I don’t let the clock shy me away from something, even though I know that that would be prudent.

I’ll post the game with an hour.

After the game, he asked if I had thought he would play Nxg instead of Bxg, and I said “No, I knew you were going to play Bxg”. My problem is that I simply didn’t analyze quickly enough, so I looked at my clock and realized I needed to make immediate decisions/moves, and then found out why it didn’t work afterward, during the meager time he spent on his moves.

Funny thing is that my whole game plan in this opening was to push e5, not attack on the wing. I simply never saw that after 10.e5 dxe 11.Bxe Bc6 12.Qf4 that Black has no useful way to defend the c-pawn. I had imagined 12…Rc8, but Black’s queen is being attacked and he has to move it, something I had not considered! After the game, he thought I had all kinds of great stuff, and chief among his worries was “Where is my queen going to go?”

Man, it’s hard for me to play when the other person moves quick; I do better against other slow players.

Foolish attack

I think that Neal won the psychological battle as I was not looking forward to another endgame with him, and I also wanted to see how I would handle a speculative sacrifice, get myself used to playing something like that without getting rattled.

1808 would be my new rating. I guess I just wasn’t into it, without the extra time to think.

Kb1 is too slow, and e5 is too nullifying, but h3, g4 gives White an advantage.

3 thoughts on “Foolish attack

  1. I’ll look at your game when you post it. I think, you can try G/60, if it goes well you will get another “source” of OTB games. You can play meaningful game even with G/30, though actually could be not enough, but G/60 …
    No experiments in the opening, of course, if possible.
    You have ~12 minutes for the first 15 moves according to Botvinnik.

  2. I didn’t like Bh6, of course, and thought that you should have taken the rook on f8. Fritz criticized Bh6, but his Bh5 too, saying that he had to take on d1 in order to keep his -4.5 advantage, instead he was -1.14. Fritz thought that keeping Bh6 was better, than Bxf8, with ~-1 estimate. He thinks that 18. Rd2 killed the game with -4.5 estimate, instead 18. Rxg8 Nxg8 19. Rg8 kept it at ~-1.5.
    Yeah, your play in this game looks reckless, you can’t play like that against 1900+, only if you are already losing badly. OK, we learn. He played your opening, I would try to overbook him next time, also maybe get a draw just to be better psychologically.

  3. No experiments in the middle-game, either. hehe.

    With 30/90 his blitzing would not have worked, and I would not have initially dropped that pawn. In fact, with the faster the game the less desperate of a style I need to adopt.

    This is exactly what I was afraid of regarding a G/60 situation, that it can turn into a game of “chicken”. Many will adopt that stance. Obviously, if someone else is staying equal to me on the clock, I should not have any problems there. I did not know ahead of time that he would play so quickly on the clock, but I should realize that I am going to see a lot of this. Some A players are stronger than me (with the consistency that Neal beats me with) in large part because they are stronger on the clock.

    I think it takes 20 minutes just for my brain to get used to the 3-D chessboard and get into the game. I guess I’ll have to BS my way through the opening like he was doing by making more passive moves and hitting the clock quickly until I can mentally, slowly begin to orient myself to the board and analyzing. I should probably drill tactics before the game, wake my brain up, get it focused.

    Curious backdrop to this game. Neal comes tromping in late, as usual, and says as he is walking in and sees me “I am playing you”. Originally, I was going to play Anthony since I had merely showed up for a game, but Neal knew that if I was in the tournament, that meant I got a bye last week and would be playing him. I said okay I’ll be in for the whole tournament. So at least one of us was nicely amped before the game. Then he insisted on using his equipment as Black. So he was ready, unfortunately I wasn’t as ready as he was. He was not looking forward to playing another game against Mike, whom he was originally scheduled to play with.

Leave a Reply

