Against the Scheveningen

Or however it’s spelled.

I played almost a carbon-copy, pawn structure game. First one I blew it and lost to a guy on FICS just under 2000. Second one was a quick win. Here is the Game

Outside of the French Advanced var. as White or QGD, most of my games get very tactical. Someone who is just thinking strategical and technique-wise isn’t going to do well in these, I don’t think. You can’t just be a good bean-counter in these, but have to play with some feel.

The thing about this Schev var. of the Sicilian is I find the only way to gain traction is to castle-queenside and get that g-pawn going, beat Black’s b-pawn that is trying to do the same thing. In my first game, I had Crafty find where I went wrong; it took 104 moves for Crafty to produce the win, so open and tactical does not mean game over after 30 moves necessarily!

In this game I showed where I won, I really suckered him into that pin, didn’t I (?) I was more worried about Black playing …f6, but the near 2000 guy played the same way, and his Black bishop was even more hemmed in than this one.

I don’t know, but lately, the last few days, everytime I attack a queen, the other guy attacks mine back instead of moving their own. Oftentimes, you can move your queen out of it where you are winning a piece, so look for it and don’t make any fast moves until you find it!! You’ll see, and remember my tip. 😉 But in general, people love to attack your queen when they are busted (instead of thinking of something better), so remember that.

Here is how the game should have gone – Game_Shoulda It’s important to remember this because in open positions you usually get your one chance and are strategically busted if it progresses past that point without pulling the trigger.

If the king had simply taken the rook on g7 instead, then White plays Bxe5+, trades on f6, and then lines up for mate on g8 starting with queen sac there, but there is no way out, all the other defenses lead to a different mate.

6 thoughts on “Against the Scheveningen

  1. Moving his queen to c7 (to prevent mate) doesn’t help much since white takes with the bishop on e5 and the queen has to move again after which follows Bxg7+ – Kg8, Bxf8+ – Kxf8, Qg8+ (or moving the rook on g1)- … and white has a rook and two pawns for a bishop.

  2. Woops, after Qc7, Bxe5 Qd7, Bxg7+ Qxg7, Qxg7 checkmate. Forgot the bishop on c4 in my first comment. So whatever black played in that position it was always loss of queen or checkmate.

  3. My Bc3 was weak though. I just added the real answer to this king’s defense enigma in the original post.

    Chesstiger, I only wish that my queen were already on g3. In the variation that I played, after …Qc7, then Qg3…Bf6, h4….b5 when he is hitting a bishop with this move and then on his next with …b4, which looks rather convincing on the face of it at least.

  4. However it’s spelt it is a very good game,and yes you did suck him in with that pin.

    he never got an attack on your king going at all,his queenside pawns where never a threat.

    His a8 rook did not even move.

Leave a Reply

