Abstract example

Here is a game that I just played on FICS, a simple win.

There is a point here. I spent a total of 3 min 33 sec on this game, including the increment, and they a little less. Yes, he did drop a piece and I didn’t see it. Useless example, right?

Well, for some reason I just thought of playing ..d6 and ..e5 – does anyone know the name of this opening? – I don’t ever remember playing it before or it even occuring to me, but even before moving my queen from c8, I realized that his c4 pawn would drop if he played Nc3. Yes, he played a lot of bad moves and probably quickly forgot it, but it shows that the game didn’t come down to tactics really as much as having a better sense of the abstract value of what’s going on, and actually looking at RollingPawn’s games recently has even helped me with this. This person has only played a few Standard games, but after 300+ blitz games has a 1496 rating, so they should be able to play some decent chess. Perhaps it’s a typical game on FICS where not much analysis was brought to bear on White’s part, but I know you don’t get to 1496 blitz for playing dumb.

Ah, King’s Indian, it’s been so long since I’ve played one (A45). Goes to show how easy it can be to attack queenside, as castling there should only be done when a player really understands what they are doing, IMHO (just moving the king one more square to safety is an extra tempo, other considerations aside), and it works best in a center-counter sort of opening as Black, where the d-file gets opened.

6 thoughts on “Abstract example

  1. I was going to say it looked a bit like a variation on the King’s Indian, but ( with my limited experience of it ) some of the Black pieces and lots of the White on “wrong” squares.

    3 m 33 s ? I have t admit this often surprises me, the small amount of time that people use when they have signed up for a slow time game ( although you don’t mention the time-frame exactly ).
    When I played on FICS I gained loads of rating points ( from a 1400-ish to an 1850-ish) when playing standard chess against blitz players. They move as if in blitz, but as long as you play your own game-speed it is OK. I suspect they are impatient and miss tactics.

    The downside of such a rating gain is that it unfortunately raises suspicion of cheating.

    I don’t think those sort of tournaments go on now, as STC seems to have ground to a halt.

    Nice game though, and I want to agree with your conclusions ( re:tactics etc ) since my tactics can often be risible !

    I would also add that playing through many master games in the same opening also gives you a sense of what to do ( ideas/plans ) and where pieces should be.

    I have adopted this method of trying to assimilate the King’s Indian using the Convekta CD of it, combined with a simplistic “Starting Out” guide. They seem to complement each other as the book gives a framework, and the CD has very relevant master games, most with annotation in the ‘Theory’ section ( 850 games ) and many with annotations in the ‘Encyclopeadia’ ( 8000 games ).

    At least I know I am aiming at in general now !

    Good blog, simply and well-written : I enjoy it.

  2. Thank, Signalman, and welcome aboard!

    My approach recently is to analyze my own games with Crafty and try to learn what I am missing, so the aim has been more to see where I am going right and wrong and improve that way.

    It is fun to go over game-collections of favorite players, though.

    If people play tough, then the game slows down. Sometimes people are up for a challenge and sometimes you pick up that they aren’t analyzing or thinking clearly, so you keep the tempo up, perhaps it’s a little on the subconscious level.

  3. 1…Nf6 followed by d6 is more of an Old Indian really. I started out playing it myself as my first defence to 1.d4. After that i switched to playing both the Benoni and the Benko Gambit. As of 2010 my main choice against 1.d4 is the King’s Indian.

  4. Old Indian…I was going to mention that, but wasn’t sure. I had a cult memory of the Queen Bishop being on f5 for the Old Indian, but I think that may be a specific version of it.

    I too used played the Old Indian against d4 ( but with the Bishop on f5 ) but didn’t really do too well with ( partly because I never really learned what I was supposed to be doing ! ).

    The Benko & Benoni seem heavily complicated to me ( I think the Benko is also called the Volga ? ) and I’ve never knowingly played them. I even steer away from c5 in the KI !

    Against d4, I used to play the Dutch a lot, with some success, but like CMOB, I am switching to more mainline openings.

  5. I seem to always have lost the few times that I played the Dutch. The Benoni seems losing too, unless one really knows what they are doing. The Benko is tough after the opening and if Black doesn’t get it’s “thing” in, a sort of strategical cheapo based on piece infiltration. If that all doesn’t work or if Black is simply down the pawn, the endgame is not exactly one to be recommended for Black.

    It’s really hard to come up with much variety against d4. The old-Indian sounds like a nice try. I’ve played it a few times but I was too weak then for that to really count. Black does have to watch out for some stuff early on.

    The Queen’s Indian was in vogue for a while with Karpov and Anand playing it, but it’s one of those openings where it helps to know specifics as Black.

  6. White’s placement of the pieces doesn’t make any sense to me.
    That knight’s move is very bad, and he doesn’t play as ~1500 rated blitzer, 300 games is not much, I played ~6500.

Leave a Reply

