Computer evaluations

In this case, I use Crafty.

Here is a game where the first part was actually played, but afterward Crafty is telling me off. So, I decide to get back at Crafty a little and keep playing, throwing in some of my own moves, but mostly using Crafty against Crafty. The result? After White being down nearly -3.00 for most of the game, White chips away at that notion and is eventually able to draw it. Once again, fortune favors the bold! BTW, the result is a draw, so it’s not the best move, but rather shows that there are practical chances in some games that are evaluated as if lost. In the actual game, I won because of an endgame blunder by my opponent.

I’m sure that Fritz would throw in some winning moves as Black, but who the heck is playing against Fritz? I think Crafty is 2300+.

I play out tons of these types of games with Crafty, either analyzing an opening or a game. Lest you think I spend oodles of time, I spent < half on hour on this. When I play Standard games on FICS now, my opponent is almost invariably in time-trouble and and I have scads of time. It may not be playing strength, but my playing speed has really shot up out of nowhere. I can blitz 1800+ players at Standard, I can blitz the blitzers at Standard.

For me, chess is mostly about mental energy rather than time. When I have it it’s like a car that goes for a long drive, but a few days later, at any time, it can suddenly run out of gas and takes a few days to get it back, maybe 4 days. The only problem with chess for me is that I should not be playing and spending my mental energy on chess because I am a programmer by trade and should be doing/learning more of that with my brain energy. If you do something less intellectual for a living, then chess is perfect to add that balance back to your life. But in practice I’d guess a lot of us already have other mental jobs and hobbies and thus overload ourselves.

I just made up another line that Crafty said was 0.0, but I thought there was something to it and it ends up winning by routine-play from Crafty.

6 thoughts on “Computer evaluations

  1. Very interesting bishop sac. I am not surprised by then draw, because there is such a permanent factor as his King’s bad placement, eventually White uses it. You know, I am a programmer too. It’s a different kind of intellectual activity, would you say that reading a book after work is not good? I think brain should work at maximum capacity, my desktop at home is 2.66 GHz, I over-clocked it, so it runs at 3GHz, no problem.

  2. RollingPawns, I decided to check out one of your blitz games. This is the ending you needed to win – it’s sorta funny how non-blitz gameish that it is:

    http://chessflash.com/node/1209

    I have an AMD Phantom, triple-core with 2GB RAM on this PC, Win2k. Programming is different than chess, I would say, but sometimes it is the same in that you have to keep a lot of factoids in your head to solve a critical problem.

  3. I’ve prepared a c3 Sicilian line. I see a lot of players here play the Sicilian whereas back home I only saw it from a couple lower-rated players.

    Preparing an opening for OTB is like postal-chess, it’s a lot of work, whereas on FICS I’ll play anything that comes to mind.

    I wanted to see why Black didn’t play one particular move so I used my CA DB. Turns out 20/20 avoided that line for no particular reason other than mostly drawish or slightly disadvantaged prospects because of a pawn formation. So that didn’t help me, I still had to play games out with computer engines and invent and figure out my own stuff to see. It’s a horrible “waste” of time, since I got to 1800 back on the west coast without having to do that stuff. Now I’ve got tough < 1800 players to play against here because there aren't enough higher-rated players to pump up the ratings of everyone else. Back there, I could beat an Expert whereas here they are looking to beat me.

    Very nice combo there! Yeah, that’s a real shocker for the other guy. It looks like Rc1 could have prevented it a move earlier.

    It’s funny how non-chess players think we are going there for the social activity and to make new friends. lol. I usually get some hard looks, and am more or less viewed as a ratings-point dispenser by now. Guys deep into chess, you can tell that it detracts from social skills and I have a more balanced view of the benefits of chess, there are a lot of positives but also drawbacks, I mean in terms of young kids “improving” their lives by playing chess. I’d say yes, but only if they get the right job, otherwise it breeds some misfit personality characteristics I think. Keep in mind, your young adult life was before the computer era, some of these kids that’s all they’ve ever known, so they might not sense it as much as we would have. Speaking as one who grew up in the misfit category myself, but with a less technological childhood, so I can recognize it in some others that I meet in person.

    I’m like you, not looking to play 2.c3, but rather delay it with Nf3; this prevents seeing …d5 in one go, but also means having a finer understanding of some closed positions – getting rid of the light-squared bishop with Bb5+ also seems like a plus because it blocks up d7 square where you’d otherwise want to play h3 to cover the g4 square/pin, and Be2 sorta gets in the way of the e-file. So I studied it to where Black plays ..a6 first, before …Nf6, but this also gives White some more time. Because basically, even with c3, I like to get my d4 in. šŸ˜‰

    c3 is more of an anti-dragon, anti-Najdorf, particularly when I am not feeling up to one, response. Against the Taimanov, I’ll probably go for the open Sicilian because otherwise it’s a french advanced, but the typical Sicilian player seems to not be familiar with the nuances in the French as Black, so it can work either way.

    I’ve realized something about this c3, it’s more about being a positional genius of closed game than than a tactical one in an open board. It’s amazing how different that the two worlds are. In the Open Sicilian, Black should have some idea, and actually both players seem to end up wasting gobs of time in the opening (which makes me think that for me the key is just to get out of the opening, even if badly so that experience can kick in), but a lot of it is stereotype. In the closed game, the stereotype part, if any is in the middlegame, not the opening.

  4. I understand your situation very well. Back in Russia, in the city where I lived, there were a lot of good, experienced 2nd (“B” class) players, so it was difficult to get 1st category (75% or 1st place in 2nd category tournament, which I got eventually). The same was with candidate master (expert), there were a lot of tough 1st category guys that beat each other and you needed twice 75% with them and also some good result in tourney with candidate masters/masters participating. People sometimes went to Moscow, where there was much bigger and diverse contingent and easily got it there.
    I am ready to play c3 in Sicilian against e6, but didn’t get it yet.
    In Moscow variation (2…d6 3. Bb5+) I play d4 too, not in Rossolimo
    (2… Nc6 3. Bb5).

  5. That’s very interesting about Russia, that makes sense to go to Moscow.

    I get what you are saying about the Rossolimo, because Black can still get in …d5 in one go.

    Okays, so with the c3 thought in mind, I can avoid the Accelerated Dragon (a late Nc3 allows …e5, but that is rather bad for Black, it seems, IMO) and the Najdorf, but not the Classical Dragon (Nc6 and d6). Interesting. Of course, the Rossolimo avoids it but I’m not sure I want to play that just yet, and I don’t really want to play the c3 main-line with …d5, but it’s the other alternative to the Classical Dragon. It’s really kind of fun to play against the classical dragon though. If you you like your tactical attacks, it’s like not just yeah, but heck yeah. Only problem is you need to be booked a little, perhaps, and OTB dragon defenders ( above 1600 ) are known for being booked.

    I’ve just discovered the final touch on my chess-strength, preparation. I went back over the Sicilian Dragon game that I lost, there were two lines, Qxb and Ng4, and I believe that I can win the endgame against either one. Where ability meets preparation, that is worth another 100 rating points at least, moreso because I have the ability now. I played an endgame where Crafty thought it equal or Black tiny edge. Basically, I beat Crafty in a rook ending (using it’s analysis, of course, to avoid all the gotchas), realized that I could create a passed pawn and my king was much better positioned. Crafty is always looking for the tactical, which doesn’t sit well with general endgame strategy. But I realize now that chess can be more about the endgames. If both people are prepared with the opening, then endgame strength and tactics can make the difference. I don’t want to post the two games showing each line because I don’t want my future local opponents to find this website and see what I have in store for them.

Leave a Reply

