Intuition

I originally played this on FICS and lost, but wanted to see where I went wrong. Naturally, Crafty’s score-keeping simply can’t keep up with what I am up to. I went into all kinds of sidelines, maybe 10 or more, perhaps 12-15, just to prove that it does work. This last game analysis came closest to Black. Perhaps it is not losing by force according to stronger engine and more time, but I kept finding the win, and Crafty wasn’t finding the initial moves in many variation, I had to supply the move based on my intuition, and I’m surprised at how often that worked.

Here is the last game variation that I looked at. If there is a hole, it is probably with this one. During the game, I was only concerned about the sac being declined, but I had to look at all the piece gambit accepted alternatives. Near the end, Black can trade queens, but that is losing, too.

If only I could execute these combinations over the board. This is how absorbing chess has become for me, I can’t “play a game” anymore because the analysis outstrips all the plopping down and shuffling of pieces during the game.

BTW, it’s originally a double piece-sac, Nxh7 wins with any response, but this game was the declined line. Crafty did not like my h-pawn push, nor was it looking at Nxh7, and of course there were more situations like this one.

3 thoughts on “Intuition

  1. I looked at the game, it’s crazy. You know, I think you are going too deep. It’s like me playing that freaking blitz (BTW, I want to declare a moratorium for a month) or preparing my openings. The performance factor is not very high.
    I am reading the book “Combinational motifs” by M. Blokh, the program CT-ART 3.0 is based on this book, now there is already CT-ART 4.0.
    It’s a most detailed set of combinations I ever saw, for example “Attack on uncastled king” includes king on e8, f8, e7, other square.
    1400 combos, ocean of ideas. I don’t know if my head still can remember this stuff, but I have to try. Just simple knight fork based on decoy (one of the first items) cost me a game 1.5 year ago (QxN, QxQ, royal fork and I was without a piece). Maybe now I would see it, but there are a lot of other things. I still have to force myself to do it, but you know, any sport includes training, my kid was doing gymnastics 16 hours a week, all these elements again and again, of course the competition is more interesting, but how can you go there without it?

  2. Chess has the power to take people away from just playing,and lift them to another level.
    I agree with Rolling pawns you may be getting a bit deep now.
    Dont get lost to the dark side,come back to chess the enjoyment game.
    Play some games just for the hell of it,win or lose enjoy them.
    Yes learn from them but enjoy them.

    In the game i like the outpost on f6 white made great use of that.

  3. I’ve had this book of combo’s by Blokh just on the King’s Indian Defense and went through some of them once – the combo in your game reminded me of the types of ones in there. Nice book, and back in the day I played that opening as Black.

    In the game I played, or should I say the analysis that I didn’t see, the ideas were mostly clearance sacs, like f6…Qxf to uncover the strength of the pin of knight on f7 along an open f-file, and then once you get that it’s like putting pizza or ice-cream toppings onto that, you get the Bh6 pin, threatening Qxg mate, then add on to that by playing Qg6 and now it’s like mate plus material squared.

    Of course, in the next line I looked at the queen prevents that by playing Qf5 to block that pawn, but then of course the queen became a target to Bg5 and even a Ng5 fork sac of knight when fxN recapture opens both h and files, which is also winning. hehe.

    In the game, I floundered, not seeing much and was simply down two pieces. But the game was 15 5 and I had people talking to me right after my sacs.

    You are right, it doesn’t really count since the performance was not OTB, basically just training gone nuts. It always starts with an innocent “I just want to see if….”, thinking that there was a five-second answer available from Crafty, but I’ve learned that you can’t trust the scoring from engines right away, that they may not see the strength of the move for another move or more, and will often say you are simply down a couple of points on the scoreboard. I put some lines in from MCO in once, and it said that sort of thing, and people will often think an author/player was making mistakes because “the computer says” or that this other move was better, but how do you know they are right unless they also have some chess-strength of their own?

    I also use Shredder sometimes, which is very strong. Fritz analysis seems the safest, but people don’t always feed Fritz these “horrible” material deficit positions, either. Even the last big sac in that line, Crafty was content for Qxg6, drawing by repetition, but I fed it the c-pawn push to re-open that diagonal pin and let Black take my Ra3 with it’s dark-bishop, again that was my intuition that got the ball rolling.

    Sometimes, if no one is seeing these combos, and a point to keep in mind is pawn structure. One thing I remembered from my last club that an Expert taught me is creating a passed pawn, or pawn-structure in regard to the endgame. From another player I learned that my sacrifice strength was not that high. I learned that from players at my last club. That one near 1800 player was interesting to play against, his comments, but that is the one thing that I am glad that I picked up from friendships at my last club. Here, I may not see those opportunities again so much.

    One thing that I used to do to get to 1800 was blunder-check by writing moves down first (before I heard about that rule). On a practical level I had stopped blunder-checking, which is another reason I wanted to see for sure whether or not I had just gotten lazy or whether I was simply preferring my position all the time and had mentally “lost it”. But now I see that intuition is powerful, we simply may not live up to making the right moves OTB.

    Interesting observation, ChessX. The thing is, still I for one will only see so much OTB and really not be sure between different plans. Sometimes it just comes down to having good sense about which plan is better and deciding on one. Opponent’s counterplay is the safest determinant of which plan is best.

    I didn’t play this Wednesday, was working on fixing up my new home. Also didn’t play on Thursday for the same reason. I am working with costly, experienced labor, so I can’t simply go at my own leisurely pace and still expect to get chess in in the early evening.

    It’s fitting that this post is titled “Intuition” because Smyslov was the one player that championed that value of intuition (and was also a very spiritual person). Smyslov was one of my chess heroes – I had his Dover book and his more recent autobiographical game collection where he added a lot of games to that one, and still need to get to studying those games someday.

Leave a Reply

