This week

Did not play this week as I have been studying somewhat for a job interview, that might not happen after all as it turns out.

There is a class championship this weekend, but don’t know if I will go or not, could play in A section if I went.

All which isn’t to say that i haven’t still been playing online games. 😉

May play in the class championships this weekend, if I get up early and am motivated. My problem is I play my openings seat-of-the-pants so often that I sometimes feel like I don’t know what response I should play, usually go by mood…which gets me in trouble later, mood that is.

7 thoughts on “This week

  1. I think someone is suffering from a dose of to much chess.
    You should never play because you feel you “have to”
    You wont play to your standard.
    Play because you “want to”
    As rolling pawns says get into the appropriate mood.
    Good luck if you play.

  2. Yeah, I’ve played so much that I don’t take it as seriously or have trouble doing so. I played two games today, lost the first, didn’t have the confidence to launch an attack, went for a draw and gave up a tempo, blundered a pawn, then got crazy and lost.

    Second game was really nuts, I was up a whole piece and should have ended it in a few more moves starting with h4, but in time pressure I had a delusion of grandeur and made an unforced sac rook for 2 pawns, but I thought I was going to play Nf6 instead of Nf5, moment of delirium. Time pressure will do this, I have found.

    I knew I was going to win the game, but wanted to see if I could win it even more convincingly, like I got bored in time-pressure and wanted to challenge myself. I did that same sort of thing in game 1 as well, knew that Nf6 was sound, but went for Nb6 just to “keep it interesting”. In the post-mortem I realized how much more trouble people have playing against solid moves than speculative ones. Probably because the speculative move loses in many ways but the solid move gives them a chance to mess up even as they are winning, just the pressure of knowing they should win I guess.

    After that it should have been a draw around move 80, but he sacked a pawn for “no reason”. Actually, it made perfect sense because then I had to decide whether to “go for a win” with only a second on my clock and I went for the win simply because I didn’t want to repeat moves all day and I got my king too far up and then I saw how he could skewer me in 2 moves. Really, I easily could have kept repeating moves. He had 16 seconds left at the end of the game! Talk about playing for the full 6 hours! We were the last ones done. It looked like it was going to be a draw.

    I mean, it was fun. I got into a tough bind in that game 2 and then came back. Aside from my blunders I did pretty well.

    I didn’t realize the second guy was 1920 until just now. During the game, I thought he was just having fun with his sacs that didn’t work, but afterwards it seemed like he thought he was in a tough position. He was definitely having fun I think, nice older guy, even brought me water a couple times. He thought I am a pretty good chessplayer.

  3. I got 1.5/2 in my last 2 rounds. The last game I offered a draw, thought he had no losing chances but was confounded in the post-mortem that he didn’t realize he would be way way losing if he tried to exchange off this straggler pawn (absolutely no reason to) but he didn’t sense where the kings needed to be.

    I’ve come to realize that experience and skill are two separate things. When I get to the endgame, I simply have more experience than any < 1900 player that I've ever played. To me, I don't even see it that you can mess up and yet somehow they all do, I guess I forgot that I used to do those things at some point – probably I’ve always had a certain natural talent there, relatively speaking.

    It surprises me because when you play, in your mind you are playing yourself, but the reality is often that the other person will play something completely different. I mean, if I were playing myself I feel that I would beat myself all day long over simple errors, but other people will give me generous breaks or make errors.

    I mean, it’s uncanny, I feel I put so much of my brilliance into the opening (necessary), but the reality is that my opponents very often outplay me in the opening, for all my time spent, it’s like almost irrelevant to the final result. Then I get to the ending where (I guess) I can play that part of it on an Expert level.

  4. hehe. How cool! 🙂

    I played some long ones. You are going to hate me for this, but in the that game I won, I had maybe 7 minutes for my last 24 moves and won. lol. It just seemed like I had 5 minutes forever.

    In the game I drew, I got lost in Denver and was over 50 minutes late off my clock, he was using a BHB analog clock. I was just under 4 minutes and he had 10 minutes for our last 8 moves and I just did not see the point of bothering to blitz it out (since I had already been playing the game like it was G/60 to make up for my time deficit). Ironically, I probably stood much better with my 4 minutes to his 10 since I wasn’t spending as much time.

    Okay, I’ll try and get some of them up before I hit the hay. 😉

    Here is Round 3. My only win. Round 2 should have been a win, and I guess round 4 as well.

    Round 2 I didn’t realize that Kc5 would have got me out of the pin, so I took the pawn on a4 at the end of the game. This game came down to me making a bunch of bad moves at the end of both time-controls. The last time-control I only made the one losing mistake, Crafty gives it 0.00 move after move. This is a great example of how cagey old veterans will try to beat you on the clock (even if they aren’t consciously doing it).

    Round 4 I am surprised he is the highest rated. In post-mortem, I explained to him the difference between a3, Be2, and Millner-Barry systems. He didn’t know the very basics of Milner-Barry! – although one has to play it to learn the basics, not just read the MCO on it or look at it (it drops 2 pawns!?? err, no.) He calculated well, but I was surprised in post-mortem he made a losing move, but could have been okay (his king needed to lose a pawn instead of defend a pawn immediately), would have been move 38. Anyway, it was hard to expect him to mess up, and you can’t trust skittles analysis.

    Round 4 I had a draw with 34…RxN, almost played it, didn’t find the draw in the meager time I looked for it, but lost this game due to terrible, terrible clock management. I hung my rook with Rd6, a planned move “if he does this, I’ll do that”, but as soon as I took my fingers off the piece I was like “I just hung my rook”. It took him a minute to notice it! Imagine if we had both been in time-trouble!

    The upshot of this tournament is that now I now what my problem is, but ironically a lot had to due with my low confidence level at the beginning of the tournament. By the end of it, that level had made a complete turnaround and I realized that other people aren’t necessarily going to make what you think are the best moves, so don’t spend too much time!

Leave a Reply

