Bringing down an open-Sicilian

Is one of the greatest satisfaction for me in chess.

I only wished that my games OTB went like this, but alas people will put more effort into those ones.

This was a 15/0 game on FICS. I had 8:32 left and he/she had 11:19 left.

Since I’ve got here, it seems my only games as White were two Owen’s Def against 1400 level, which I think I can handle now, and two Open Sicilians as White against high 1700 level – one Najdorf and one Dragon; talk about catching no breaks. Then as Black I see a lot of “come and get me openings” from White, those are the hardest to play positionally.

That last game against the Bird, I found out that ..d4 with ..f6 and ..e5 to follow, even if I had played it right away, was too slow to gain more than equality (although equal games can be won/lost). One has to play patiently against those systems. Really, there is more that could be calculated in those “slow” positional games than there are even with open games and quick fireworks.

6 thoughts on “Bringing down an open-Sicilian

  1. Shadddup. šŸ™‚ (I’m joking with you). I thought the same thing as you during the game. Did you ever see Dr. Evil in Austin Powers? “Zip it!…..zip!”

    Yep, you are right, thanks for spotting it.

  2. I kind of like playing against the Sicilian! I have been studying it as White AND I found a cool new thing for opening study!!

    I can make an opening book in Shredder from any of the games in my Chessbase Database. AND if I specify it to do so the engine will use that opening book.

    SO I can take all the games where say Fischer, Tal and Shirov played the Black side of a Sicilian and make that the opening book! So in effect I get to practice my Sicilian as White against those three guys!! How cool is that?

    And you can do that with any opening and any one player or group of players. Another example is that I made an opening book consisting of Anand playing the Black pieces against 1.e5!!

    It is making chess opening study fun (and hopefully fruitful!)

  3. I remember before I had databases, when I would try to model my e4 choices after Karpov’s. Of course, it didn’t really work because I am not Karpov but it did give me confidence emulating his style (or at least in my mind I was).

    I think that’s really cool you can do that so easily as my first impulse reaction to that is to want Chessbase on a new PC. However, I do like my board and chess-den now, even working on accessorizing it by finding a cat at the Humane Society. šŸ˜‰

    Tommy, I am glad you are studying e4 and e5 and not turning to the dark side with d4. šŸ˜€

  4. Watch out for those cats and the chess boards!! It usually very fun and charming when my cat demolishes a position but every once in awhile I have to lock her out of the room while I study or play. šŸ™‚

    I wonder if an older copy of Fritz 11 would work on your computer. I think you would be able to do the same thing with the opening books.

    And I am totally committed to 1.e4! a White and 1. e4 e5 as Black. Unless they play 1. d4 and then I am committed to the Tarrasch defence!

  5. Tommy, I’m waiting for the Linux version. šŸ˜€

    Supposedly, I can’t go past Fritz 7 I think on Win2k. I like the graphics for Chessbase.

    The cat is assisting you by testing your memory of the position. šŸ˜‰ She’s like the coach in ‘Searching for B0bby Fischer’. Discipline!

    It wouldn’t be a bad thing to have some of my repertoire memorized. When I played the Dragon yesterday, I knew ahead of time if I got one that I would not play the Yugoslav Attack 0-0-0 because that is simply easier to make it work from the Black side, and I did not want to give the lower-rated player an easy time of it, that is why I went for the more “passive” continuation, but you see how that worked anyway. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

