Sudden End

Here is the game

On the one hand, I was sweatin’ it because the kid (13?) made his first 10 moves in 1 minute, and I was doing the 1 move in 10 minutes thing, but the game ended where he had 75 minutes left to my 39.

I missed a tactic, and didn’t see how I could prevent e6…Rd8, Qd4, but as soon as he pushed the pawn forward I thought “Hey, that opened a diagonal”, and then followed that path to the mate. Must have waited a solid minute before playing it though, and he stuck out his hand as soon as I started moving the queen along the diagonal. Was thinking afterwards if I had stopped moving my queen to shake his hand, he pulls it away saying “Not if you’re moving there, I’m not offering you a draw”, and then goes on to beat me, that’s what should have happened. haha. As it was, he simply made his move instantly without blunder-checking it.

I blundered too, so to speak, because I had been spending a lot of time on previous moves and simply had to go through with something by this point, missed his Qxd.

Earlier on, I bailed out with BxBd3, but was calculating …Ne4, Qc2…Ndf6, Nfd2, but it takes too long to make …Qc7 work because of Nb5 fork of my Qc7 and Bd6, but after I moved I thought what about …Qb8? Anyway, the tricky part of it would have been g3, then …Bxg3, f3…Bh7+, I dunno, it’s really too much for this time-control, and seeing as how it was going on the clocks decided to bail out with normal play.

I got a good feeling with finishing early. Analyzed with the other guy I meant to last time.

Mark M, who I lost to last game (yes, he even showed up late for registration), he was playing with an Expert, they both had 7 pawns. The Expert had a knight and him a bishop, and just though “gawd, I am glad that is not me playing another tiring game….whose only point is the clock, the whole clock, and nothing but the clock.” hehe.

I think it’s darn near impossible not to blunder at G/90 unless most of one’s time is spent doing tactical scans and blunderchecks.

To be honest, it felt …Qe7 was the solid move rather than …Qc7, but I simply did not choose to afford myself such a lengthy blunder-check at that moment.

3 thoughts on “Sudden End

  1. 10 moves in 1 minute is not surprising, because he played Colle, it’s a scheme. You moves look good, except for the blunder on d5 and Qc7 just doesn’t seem to be OK because of the rook on c1. You were going to get into serious time trouble again, spending 50 minutes on 20 moves, meaning by move 30 you would have probably less then 15-20 minutes left on your clock.

  2. It would have been a sloppy game, but I should have been able to handle it against this particular opponent.

    He needed to play Qd1…Rd8, and then either Qc2 or Bd4. As long as I play …Nxe, h3 and then I don’t waste time and simply keep moving there I should be okay, it’s more blitz chess than real chess though, move to survive on time situation.

    I’ve concluded that G/90 is not quite real chess, it favors the counterattacker who continues to sit back, making moves, playing non-commital, “come and get me” chess, looking for the other guys’ mistake, which is all he was basically doing until he “thought” he had something.

    I definitely wanted to have at least 20 minutes by move 30 to keep the promise to myself, and actually was appalled that that is where it was heading. My goal was to have 30 minutes left by move 30.

    I wish I could be like that Expert, perpetually at his 2000 floor. No wonder he doesn’t seem bothered by anything that goes on (he appears motivated by the money, too, but had a disappointing last month at both clubs). Dang man, that is not fair.

    Uggh, just looked at the Expert’s loss to a 1568 player in Black side of a Sicilian. He knew what he was doing but apparently didn’t have time to find the winning shots (which don’t exactly jump out). His opponent grabbed some initiative at the end and converted but it looked like up til the last blunder, and only one really, Black was winning. G/90 is a little bit sickening unless one has a natural talent for keeping up this pace. I believe you have that talent, Rollingpawns. 😉 No wait, that was G/75, makes me not want to play there now, was considering it.

    I forgot to set the clock to 85, so I should have had 34 minutes left, so 55 minutes on 20 moves. Crazy, yes, for that position especially which I have seen so many times before.

  3. Your opponent made a blunder a player of his strenght makes. You did good to spot it and win the game.

    One advise, stop trying to solve chess. Using time is good but i have the feel that you overdo it.

Leave a Reply

