Thursday’s round 2, KIA vs. French

Jason, my opponent, took first in last month’s tournament. Here is our game.

It’s interesting how ratings would suggest this should be an easy win for me, but really it’s not. Of course my opponent went into some lengthy maneuvering on the side of the board, so I opened the position up. My attack could have been better, but I was short on time.

We played two G/15 skittles games afterward. In the first game I had a bishop for pawn (both had a rook) and rejected his draw offer (is there a point to that in skittles?); then I blundered the bishop going for a poisoned pawn. Game 2 as Black I got in a sneaky little mate in the Falkbeer countergambit of KG opening and won.

4 thoughts on “Thursday’s round 2, KIA vs. French

  1. You played better, difference in the level is visible. Of course 41. Nd4 was a decisive mistake, 2 future passers on the opposite sides will tear the king apart.

  2. Thanks, Rollingpawns. 🙂

    I wasn’t sure what to think of it besides it being forced, although my intuition told me it was winning.

    The strange thing is how so many opponents will continue moving quickly as if this extra time means nothing to them. It’s as if my time-pressure lulls them into making bad moves instead of objectively analyzing the position. I suppose they are hanging around for easy kill-shots(?), dunno, but apparently they universally seem to think my time pressure will do me in (?)

    There is more to chess than waiting around for cheapos and time-pressure blunders. Analysis/calculation does become critical sooner or later. Getting my opponents to this stage is usually where it starts to pay off for me, and ratings-difference factors in there.

  3. I think I’d really like to switch over to studying endgames now. I have a book by Jonathan Speelman that I am starting to go over. I think these quick play games are going to come down more and more to endgame skill in time-pressure.

    Marc and Paul’s game came down to a king and pawn endgame, 4 on 3 on one side, and 1 extra on the other and it became drawn, if you can believe that. Marc had 31 seconds left when he offered a draw, and Paul had 2 1/2 minutes left. Marc locked up Paul’s majority and they felt that Marc’s king got into back and forth in front of his pawn, but I wasn’t so sure. This could have been a win either way though even before that.

    One mistake could be the difference between draw, win, and loss. Plus, it will take less time to study endgames but still allow me to calculate something.

    My rating isn’t going anywhere fast with so many lower-rated players, so may as well take this time to study endgames. 😉

  4. One question: why is white only busy with his own plan and not looking at what you are up to?

    All those black pawn moves and white just keeps busy with his pieces at the kingside. Strange in my eyes, very strange.

Leave a Reply

