Wednesday Round 1 – November

I played the TD, Jerry, for the fourth time – this time with the Black pieces.

In the game, after some exchanges, came my first critical decision. The best move was 12…Bg4, but I played 12…Qe7 instead, which was also strong but not as strong, and spent ten minutes on it.

I wanted to play …Bg4, to see f3 so that …Bxh5+ would work, but once it was my move, it was as if I had forgot it or simply the pressure of playing OTB, so I took the easier but clear way out.

On move 17, Crafty says that …Qc4 is best. I had prepared to play 17…QxNe1 (quicker finish), but by the time he played it’s as if I had lost some concentration and simply took the easy way out with winning the exchange. Part of why I didn’t take the knight was because I had sort of given up, while thinking on his turn, that I could count on him to play it, so the thought sort of passed. Also, OTB, it does become tempting to avoid needless risks when it is one’s turn and the pressure is on more.

In any case, when he gave up the Nf3, I realized that he had counted his …Ng5 move as coming in one tempo before it actually did. So, there’s the ballgame.

No serious problems on the clock, as we started with 85 minutes (Wednesdays are really G/85 with 5 second delay, whereas on Thursdays we play G/90 with 5 seconds), and I finished with 29 minutes left.

Mark 1880 (as White) drew against Alex 1530 in about a 14 or 15 move draw. Mark got stuck going for an attack that didn’t work and would have needed to play a perpetual to force the draw. I was actually giving them both advice, and basically told Mark that he could chillax on needing to attack so early (because he thought Black had made a “mistake”) since he was so strong at endgames. Mark asked me if I played a lot online and said that he didn’t have that opportunity. What I am getting at is it seems that people who don’t play much (perhaps only play here) can become more impatient when it comes to creating an attack. I also used to feel this pressure more, but this is a reason why so many quick wins are possible, because if the opponent goes for a quick win and messes up, then the game is often “all over”.

In the game where Mark and Alex drew, Alex actually went for a very bold counter-attack and White had to draw or lose. White had started the attack before either side had castled or completed development, and it would have been better for White to have completed development first, and not “insist” on any attack.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Round 1 – November

  1. It looks like an easy game. He needlessly gave you 2 bishops and that Nf3 was of course the decisive mistake. 16. Rd3 and 23. Rd1 were horrible moves.
    I played yesterday, won a lost game. Will try to post today. It was French, Advanced variation (I was Black). I will be very interested in your opinion about the opening because I didn’t play it well.

  2. Go for posting it. 🙂

    I’ve had to practically promise some people that I would not play the French and respond with …e5 instead should they play e4. French is a difficult opening for both sides, although I could probably play it better than I do for …e5.

    I have a way of making lower-rated players look bad a lot of times. If you can believe it, my Wednesday opponent beat Isaac last month (the kid that I drew last week), and my Thursday opponent, Gene, drew a 1700 level player in a G/30 last week.

    Next week, I will probably play Anthea (she is 1800+ now), or maybe Isaac, and another 1700 or 1800 player that I have only played once before or not at all.

    The nice thing is that I know the pressure is off when playing up because I am “supposed” to lose again some particular higher-rated opponents (mainly because they move fast and can outbook me in the Sicilian – Kurt, for instance). Kurt is a smart/strong player regardless, not just in the opening, but at G/90 the opening struggle can become accentuated. I will have White, but would rather have Black against him in particular, but that’s okay.

  3. I agree with RP– seemed like an easy game that basically won itself. So it’s hard to say anything constructive. You seemed in such a big hurry to exchange to an endgame, though. For example, did you consider Qxa2 instead of Bxd3? The rook ain’t going anywhere!

  4. I did have that same thought during the game, but I guess I really did not want to give my opponent anything. I guess my mood was less playful and more like “there is nothing there, you can resign at any time.” But he plays to checkmate as a rule.

    The last thing I wanted to do is impress myself with a fancy play because then I have to remind myself that the next game starts from scratch, gloating over that game won’t help me in the next one. I have to be hard on myself in this way, it’s more about the next game and not getting bigheaded than it is about this one. Objectively, that may make no sense, but subjectively it makes a lot of sense in a way. 😉 For me, chess is sort of like baseball, there is another game tomorrow or next week.

Leave a Reply

