Thursday – Final Round

I played Peter for the second time. In this game I am Black and trying another Queen’s Indian variation.

Really, I don’t know what the variations are but I always seem to play one, and make it up as I go. My philosophy is try out different variations. For example, I really like the ..Bb4 one, and even my piece capture on d5 was weird, but I only did it to try something new, not necessarily looking for something better, merely different.

So my Class D opponent outplays me in the opening once again, but it was a fun game. Both of us made technical mistakes, it’s just that his one or two mistakes were huge compared to mine.

Compare this to my last game where I did play the same opening that we had played before, and I only did it because he played it so passively, but then again we were only heading for a draw, since he also knew what to look out for. Those kind of games for “rating points” are not as nearly as enjoyable an intellectual exercise.

…c5 was my first blunder in the game, I didn’t realize I’d be trying to stop a passed pawn with my Nd7 in a matter of a few more moves! If he could advance pawn to d7 of course, even if only as a zwischenzug (intermediate move), then that pawn could fork the squares c8 and e8, not good for Black. Better moves according to Crafty were the patient ones such as ..Rc8, ..Bd6, ..Qe7, ..f6 like that.

Let’s look at move 18 where I played ..h6. My second choice was ..Bc6 (protects the bishop, covers d7, and even prevents Qa4), and my third choice was …Qe4, which I had seen first and Crafty likes best. After I played ..h6, I felt that ..Qe4 was probably objectively best, or so my “spidey-sense” told me. But, I was a little worried about my back-rank after a trade of queens on e4, and then Re1 kicks my bishop and uh, how’s my back-rank working out for me? Oh, yeah, I’d have to spend more time looking at that happenstance, so ..h6 was also some luft to keep the tactical eventualities less complex.

..h6 cuts down on his immediate kingside attack (I know Aziridine will disagree and be right) moves such as Ng5 and Qf5 (I’d like to trap her away from the real action in the center, get her jammed into the h-file or so).

When the climax of the game began, he played RxN to avoid getting his queen trapped by Ra8, but both of us were too tactically weak to see that he had Ne5 instead, when …BxN, BxB keeps the attack going. I had only seen Ne5..Bxg2??, Qxf7+!, missed that intermediate move.

Crafty gives White the huge advantage even after White gives up the exchange except that instead of 23.Ne5!! (neither of us saw this, or at least I didn’t), he plays 23.Be5?? and I simply “remove the defender” to come out a piece and exchange ahead.

The good news is that by the end of the game I had around 25 minutes on my clock and he around 16, so I still had some “padding” on the clock, though not much, in case he had sprung one of those better moves on me.

Despite Peter’s rating, he drew a 1573 rated player at the Tri-Lakes tournament a short while back, for example. He also knew that he had had a winning opening against me in this game, but blew it late. He is a retired minister, I am told.

3 thoughts on “Thursday – Final Round

  1. Interesting game. I think allowing him to play e4 was a kind of positional mistake, in Queen’s Indian you try to control e4. Maybe exd5 and then c5, going for hanging pawns.
    After 23. Ne5 chess program Arasan evaluates the position as equal.
    The weaker player often will find the way to lose the game, I heard it about hockey, here it’s the same.
    I played in the old club yesterday, drew 1960, it was a tough game, will try to post today.

  2. “Snatch defeat from the jaws of victory” is a humorous mocking that we often hear here.

    Blunderprone yesterday posted about GM Larry Evan’s passing, but here is a quote from Evans that is relevant. I’ll leave it up for only a while since I am taking the whole quote verbatim, but I’ll leave the link.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/18/us/18evans.html
    “What makes this game memorable is the demonstration it affords of the way in which a grandmaster redeems himself after having started like a duffer; and how a weaker opponent, after masterfully building a winning position, often lacks the technique required to administer the coup de grace.”

    This is why I can throw out some bad moves in the opening without worrying too much. Perhaps I also do it when I am paired down, it’s my one chance to goof-off a little. I had hoped to be paired up, but in a 3 round tournament one guy got 3, Dan around my rating, and the other two got 2.5 (Kurt was winning, but drew according to him).

    e4, yeah, I guess I should have prevented it with …Be4, thought about it but thought I was okay. Somehow I thought I was okay at first after he pushes d5 as well, but would try to prevent it if playing it again.

    Yeah, I’d like to see your game. You get to draw against strong players, I need to draw against anyone I guess. 😉 well, at least as Black I do. Still a draw against that rating is an achievement. Perhaps he knows not to try and force a win when one isn’t there.

  3. I forgot to add that I also played …h6 to stop the Ng5 mate threat which allows Bg2xBb7, then if I move the attacked rook to ..Rc8, the a-pawn is still undefended and his light-bishop has no opposite.

    Crafty’s score didn’t seem to be a big deal when I was going over it, but I won’t trust Crafty until I take a good look at the line. During the game, I did spend a lot of time looking at intermediate move threats such as the one I missed Qxf7+, but I kept looking at what the queen could do down there before each move.

    He even said that he was going to play Ng5, if I hadn’t played h6. I spent 20 minutes on that move, the longest think, and he was able to use that time also.

Leave a Reply

