Analysis Position

I did a “Stoyko analyis” of sorts from a game of mine on FICS this morning, spent an hour analyzing this one position.

Black gambits a pawn for play in the opening, but White spends the rest of the game in an obvious attempt to hold on to the ill-gotten gains and thus prove that White “won the opening.” IMHO, this is what many players below 1900 level do; players above that begin to appreciate the dynamic more.

Happened to me again at this tournament, I wanted to go over the game with my opponent and someone else stepped in to analyze the opening theory – different person this time! Again, in this particular game, the result was not because of the opening, it was the round 3 game actually. The person was simply pointing out the correct move for White, which again is admirable but that is pre-game preparation, not post-game analysis, unless a player lost in the opening, such as my round 4 game. I mean, when they step in and say “No, go back!” and want the board set up to move 7 when you want to analyze move 17 or move 27. I am sure nearly every player has witnessed this or done it themselves. hehe.

The odd thing is that it is also common for my opponent to not want to analyze what occurred later in the game, and instead want to follow/analyze opening theory. My opponent’s also very commonly do this with their clock, which I find truly bizarre. They will waste gobs of time in the opening as White, looking for some advantage in a completely innocuous opening tabiya, which is no threat to either side, but then will just start moving in the middlegame and get up on me in time that way, then they will budget out the rest of there time very accurately and evenly. After the game, If I asked them if they wanted to look at the opening theory or critical points in the middlegame, I’d have to guess hands down they would want to know the “answer” for move 8 or 9! and only perhaps look at the middlegame as a bunch of trivial tactics – this works up to a point, probably not the best thing to do if they wanted to get beyond max rating of Expert.

Anyhow, I sensed that I was probably winning, but couldn’t find the correct move in “internet time” White has just played 21.Rxe3 to gain that extra pawn, how does Black continue? Hint, the move I played in the actual game was wrong, but I knew that it probably was when I played it.

I found the move, and would play it OTB, but the analysis of it took quite a while. I did find Black’s best reply but didn’t analyze it much for obvious reasons. I’ll put the spoiler in my next comment.

===============Spoiler Warning – Do not read the comment below yet, unless you want to see the answer====================================

2 thoughts on “Analysis Position

  1. 21…Qe7 (takes away the Nf6+ fork threat and continues the attack). In a real game, I would play this move after I decided that it looked best, but would be analyzing opponent’s replies as soon as I had made the move (Caveat is that I must first identify opponent’s candidate moves before just playing – as I learned from this recent tournament). I don’t necessarily have to analyze all of my opponent’s candidate replies on my move, simply need to identify them and can’t miss any strong ones.

    The best reply for Black, actually it is the only reply that doesn’t lose, is 22.Re3-e1 which will lead to an equal material but dynamic ending later on as Black will have to sack a knight back to stop a passed-pawn.

    If you doubt the veracity of this, put the position up against Fritz or another engine. Crafty was favoring 21…h6, which is not good. Crafty also looked at 22.d3 Qd5, 23.Rg3, as I had, which doesn’t work for Black. I thought that Black could play 22.Re3-e1 as a strong alternative, but didn’t analyze it because it is more of a quiet move.

    If you want a challenge, figure out why 22.Ng5-e6 doesn’t work, that took me the longest time of all, but it was a useful exercise in reasoning alongside analysis.

  2. I am enjoying the ‘Anthology of Chess Combinations’. I’ve solved the first 16, and I really do solve them, just miss a couple minor details when it comes to declining the combinations, but it all works out the same in the end given such a strong starting position.

    The one thing I take note of is that it does take time to solve them, so even once the knack starts to come around, it’s important to remember that rattling them off is something only a 1900+ player can be expected to do OTB. For the rest of us, we work at it to make this transition smoother, but at least it can become more easily apparent that something is there rather quickly, even if it takes ten minutes or more to find the correct way, alternatives at declining it, and calculating all of it out.

Leave a Reply

