A Beautiful Game

…okay, so the bar _is_ set a little lower for G/90. šŸ˜‰

Round 5

This game was a rematch of last night’s game, and we both sensed this possibility coming.

Perhaps my “grandmaster draw” game of last night, when I had less energy helped for tonight, or perhaps it was the fact that both coffee machines were down at work and I had to drink one of those Starbuck’s double-shot energy drinks at work instead, but this was finally one of those games that got fully played out. I had but 11 seconds left at the end of it, which probably isn’t too surprising knowing how I play.

Did I miss any simple tactical shots? Of course I did, but it was still a nice struggle that could use some further middlegame study. For example, I missed the rather simple 28.Rxf6 Rxf6, 29.Rc7 skewering queen to the king, for a more assured win. I could tell my endgame was winning all along though as soon as the queens came off, although I had a brief doubt toward the very end.

This game score isn’t exact. For example, on my 47th move where I push 47.c5, he actually had a pawn on ..h5 in this position, so perhaps he had played ..h5 straight away, or I had probably lost a tempo somewhere. In any case, it’s even worse for Black to have the pawn at ..h5! Either way, it’s losing for Black, no bones about it. There is even a clever trick how White can win the a-pawn, because White will have a tempo to play a5 afterward, and the Black king has to step out of the opposition and lose. I did not notice this over the board.

RollingPawns, I replied to your comment about last night’s game with some of what happened in tonight’s game.

This opening is a little perplexing to play as White, with Black always threatening to get in a ..Nd5 and possibly ..NxBe3, which can be temporarily sidestepped with Ne4 reply, but then if c3, ..NxBe3 is still a possibility, d4 sac possibility aside, and then I was going to try focusing on the center, with rooks then perhaps focus on f7 weakness which is iffy since my queen is exposed as much as attacking on the f-file.

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Game

  1. Thanks, Katar! šŸ™‚

    It is nothing like your games, with all of the complexity – I envy playing a game like one of yours – it’s just that it was nice that we played an interesting game without making a lot of blubbering moves. Me and RollingPawns have this same style, not flashy but it works on <1800 opponents in particular. šŸ˜‰

  2. You can be proud of this game, very logical and clean one.
    It’s difficult to catch the exact moment when he loses, you are just gradually overplaying him. Funny how he is suddenly lost in the rook endgame.
    Happy New Year!

  3. Thanks, RollingPawns! Yes, that is my surest style, to try and outplay move by move from same-side kingside castling position. Who knows what can happen with 0-0-0 opposite castling, although that can be easier to play in some ways, with plenty of chances for both sides.

    Happy New Year everyone! I wish you all a merry and ratings prosperous new year in chess. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

