Thursdays Round 2 2012

Round 2

I played Alex as White, played a G/2 or longer against his G/1 or shorter, and couldn’t hold in time-pressure. The game was decided by my time-pressure, that was his basic strategy. He spent <15 minutes on the game.

When I got home, I changed it up and did some analysis this time before loading it onto Fruit. I figured that I should have played f5 instead of Qb3, thought about it during the game too. Then I could plan to swivel the queen with Qe1 and Qh4.

Also, I did not want to win that pawn on b6, did it only for the sake of time-pressure, to make some sort of draw out of the position but simplify. Looking on it at home, I quickly see a4 and if ..Nc8, then push the a-pawn to a6, recapture with rook and now c6 is weak and supported, and Rc1 is coming too.

This post-mortem was very quick had strong accuracy value. Chess is shades of gray, it is not a perfection game that a so-and-so's best games collection will often make it out to be to hype that player up. In time-pressure, my strength went down but he was still playing "his game" aka quick-chess. I saw my game-losing blunder as soon as I played my move, which was about five seconds before he took the pawn with check, but it's worth noting that I thought that if I had played Rd1 instead that it was equal but that I was pushing the play. He played Qh3 immediately in the post-mortem and I did not realize that Black is hereby still -+, so I think I still would have lost this not realizing that Black had something with an attack and did not need to defend.

I am analyzing more quickly now because I want it to be at game-speed if not many times faster, and it is, it is in the game that I was too slow and my time-management made it more difficult for me later on in the game, with less time and a little less energy, as is typically the case.

This wasn’t the big story of the day, the big story of the day was a would-be-renter I had met last night that said he would move in tomorrow didn’t move in because his girlfriend’s landlord let them both stay in the same room for the same price. Another player didn’t show up because his mother died. Sh*t happens in between all of these chess games. Chess is a sacrifice of one’s time, there is no doubt about that. We all have lives going on outside of chess, and probably none of us should be spending our time playing this game, that is my only point. I left chess for a month and found a job, so of course we all do better to leave chess, that part needs no explanation. I say all of this because it has become a meme for chess-bloggers to drop out because other stuff is going on in their life, as if this were a novel concept. Many blogs have ended in “dramatic” fashion in this way. It’s sufficient to stop blogging or post a short note, we get the idea. I may cut back from chess as well, who knows, sounds like a good idea right now. All I’m doing is spending my chess tournament time playing G/90, which has never been my game really anyway.

I really wasn’t focused on the result in this game, more focused on playing good moves but took too long to play them. He played “come and get me” chess and it took too long to work up the nerve, but at least I did and that part worked. I needed to keep playing patient positional chess, it was working, and not “cash in”, which is what lost me the game. Needed to keep the tension even if I lose in time-pressure and he gets in with his knights, which he could have. I still need to be not focused on the result but on getting to move 40 more quickly. This is G/90 chess after all.

G/90 is not even about good chess, this is the mistake I made. G/90 is about “do what you can as quick as you can.” If you didn’t see it, oh well, it would have taken you to long to spot it anyway. You are better off reading books to improve your game and then spitting out your BS as fast as you can OTB.

It took guts to play Ne5 because there is no Bc4, but Ne5 is even stronger in this variation because there is no ..Bf5-g6 retreat because a pawn is there. So this Ne5 idea is even stronger in this var, IMHO, than it is in the one where it appears as the main line.

Other weak moves that I played in time-pressure were Qc2 instead of c4 (I wanted to play c4, but played the cagey Qc2 instead, which looked easier to handle). BxNg4 was not optimal, it was another time-pressure move to simplify.

I feel like I can win against a whole slew of player there in blitz chess, but the time allows people to play better defensively. It takes more moves, care, and time to take down a fortress when the opponent is playing even bad defensive moves as in this game. I should have gone kingside, but it still takes more defenses to overcome because my opponent can concentrate on making defensive moves, but it still shouldn’t have been to much of a problem attacking by that point, but requires a lot more moves and not some 20 moves to breakthrough but more like 30 moves.

I almost played the 24.c4, seeing his fork but that I could attack his rook, which draws. 24.Qc2 was a simpler defensive move with a trap that I had hoped worked but does not, but he played quickly and ..Nf6 retreat was not his winning move there, Qxd was because Bf3..Qc4 attacks my rook Rf1 and Black is out of the pin. The problem with blitzing at the end, one of the problems, is that can’t really blitz as well with queens still on the board in that late middlegame situation. I did offer a draw after 25.c4, but he rightly refused it since I was in time-trouble and he was better.

2 thoughts on “Thursdays Round 2 2012

  1. Frankly, I didn’t quite like 11. g4, but Houdini is OK with it, offering 13. f5 with 0.6 advantage. I think that you played too complex game for 90/G.

    Don’t get upset, there are worse cases. My opponent on Thursday managed to get into a big time trouble in a pretty quiet and simple game.

    He was losing on time, but since he is the one of the nicest guys in the club and it came to a dead drawn rook endgame, I offered him a draw back (I refused it before). He had less than 2 minutes and I had about 20.

  2. That was nice of you, Rollingpawns. 🙂

    I was worried about …c5, but in that situation was okay, and then he played …Nb6. He obviously retreats his pieces a lot in order to exploit my time-trouble later on. I don’t think he is even playing chess, really, but this is much better than his blitz game.

    By avoiding trades he is sure to keep queens on until late in the game, and then use that the queen to win in my time-trouble. I mostly knew I should play a4 instead of winning pawn on b6. Need to stop playing bad moves for sake of time-pressure and not get into it. My longest think of the game by far was playing Be2 instead of Bd3. I figured that f5 would win against him, but for some reason I wanted to play more positional, to keep the position a little “safer” in time-trouble. The fact that I adjusted my thinking process to the clock and played too slow was my downfall. Thanks for the support for my silly play, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

