January 2012 Wednesday’s – Final Round

Round 4

I was trying to play the ..Rh5 idea to trap his queen toward the end. By move 29, though, I didn’t play it because I was playing resolute and matching his speed with the moves.

I brought my A game, and he brought his B or C game, but the result is what people remember.

I feel pretty out of it right now, unlike during the game, but at least I can see for a brief moment in chess-career, I stitched together a couple of nice wins.

My longest think of the game by far was on move 15. I knew that he had blundered immediately, but it took time to find the best continuation. I imagined long continuations, but luckily came back to concrete continuations. For example 15..f5, 16.BxB or 16.Bxd6 QxB, 17.BxB. Really have to have a strong grasp of the here and now to prune out the flights-of-fantasy variations, when calculating.

4 thoughts on “January 2012 Wednesday’s – Final Round

  1. 5. … cxd4 to mess up the pawn structure.

    6. bxc3 I think Qxc3 is better, offcourse black gets a head start in development after 6. Qxc3 cxd4 7. Qxd4 Nc6 After the played move black can already go to an endgame and profit of white’s pawnstructure.

    12. … Qc7 One can question if walking into the pin is better then 12. … Qe7 or not.

    14. Bh7+ I wonder if white has a plan or is just playing random moves.

    17. Qxd4 cxd4 is much better. This is such a cheesy play to try eat the d6 pawn. Now whites queenside pawnstructure is certainly weak and an easy point for attack.

    28. … Rh5 is much better then the played move, wins Q. 28. … Rh5 29. Qg3 Rg8

    29. ,,, Rh5 still wins Q.

    41. Ke1 White can only wait to see at which side of the board black will play.

    45. … Kg5 ??? 45. … a5!!! is the “do not waste time” move.

    Again a good played game against a weaker opponent. Lets hope you can show such superiority also against evenly rated or higher rated opponents aswell.

  2. ChessTiger, thanks for the comments, I’ll consider them as soon as I have more time. You should get off your “let’s see you fare against equal or higher rated-opponents” bandwagon. It’s G/90, I suck at G/90 and I am still over 1800. Last rating list I was in the top 50 active players in Colorado. There aren’t a crapload of players rated higher than me that I play against. I am lucky to hold my own at G/90 against opponents of my own rating. And let me make one thing very, very clear. It is FAR, FAR easier IMHO to get rating points from players of my own ratings class, by playing a couple tournaments a year, than it is to win constantly, week in and week out, against lower-rated players. 1400 is not really weak. 1800 is pretty high-rated. If I played against a pool of high-rated players at G/2, I’d be a lot higher rated than I am now in my honest opinion. I have a lot of tournament experience and chess knowledge, if I didn’t my rating would be much lower than it is.

    My opponent in this game, Alex, earlier this month drew a 2100 rated player, and had mate in two against him at one point, but missed it. And that 2100 player plays in all of the big tournaments and usually pockets quite a bit of prize-money, routinely does in fact. He also beat Kurt this month, 1900+, whom I’ve never beat.

    “12. … Qc7 One can question if walking into the pin is better then 12. … Qe7 or not.”

    Question is putting it lightly, I spent safe to say over 10 minutes on that move, it was a well-considered move.

    The 5..cxd4 is interesting and I guess one of the book lines. Probably Black gets more tactical chances out of it, but White has a lot of tempos built up in the resultant position. It’s a matter of taste, but an interesting idea.

  3. I didn’t like White’s 17th either, that’s really ugly. He must not have considered the e5 push in response at all.

    Dumb question: Is it standard for people to “play it out” that far? White really should resign after black’s 33rd – he’s a piece down with only pawns left. Is an 1800 really going to screw that up? Sheesh, I don’t think too many 1200s would screw that up from there.

  4. 5. a3 is bad – 44% score for White, so both 6. bxc3 or Qxc3 are not good.
    18. Qh4 is awful, but he made a mistake even earlier, right.
    He had to resign at least after queens exchange.

    I agree with you about G/90, on Thursday I played with 1950 rated guy and didn’t make the winning move. I considered it, but then decided that I can win a rook, but then can’t stop his pawn from queening. The thing is I could and maybe, just maybe having more time I would see it and it would make a difference between win and loss.

Leave a Reply

