Thursdays Final Round – Jan 2012

Round 4

The last couple of moves in the score are not accurate, but I finished the game with a skewer, sacked my rook for it somehow. I was also offering a pawn sac that couldn’t be taken. This all occurred using only 6 seconds of my clock time from move 38 to the end of the game (5 sec delay). I can only think of it as divinely inspired, since it didn’t seem like me. I believe I spent 4 seconds on one move, and 1 second on the rest – from 14 seconds to 9 remaining at the end of the game, and I was moving a lot faster than the 5 second delay, was moving instantly.

The funny part about this game is that I was feeling sick today at work, didn’t want to play, but when I got there had a couple danishes and two cups of coffee. I couldn’t pay attention to anything before then and thought I would lose easily, but also wanted to fight. Not because I felt like it, I was walking slow and stuff all day long, but because I wanted to.

The move I spent the most thought on was when I played 13.e5, I had all kinds of great lines that I had calculated with piece sacs and exchange sacs. I did spend quite a bit of time as well looking at 10.Nc3-b5, but I really wanted to go kingside, and that line is pretty longish.

I didn’t really want to win her piece on b4 because the toughest part of the game by far was defending while a piece up. This part of the game is remiscent of RollingPawns’s games, a grueling defense. Everything looks easy after the fact.

The hardest move of the game for me to find was one that was never played. My blitz move would have been, if 26..Rf5, 27.Re1. But then I found 26..Rf5, 27.Nd1, so that I can play Be3-f2-g3 in some variations (to counter a …Qc7, ..d5+ sort of plan by Black).

Yelena’s advice that ChessTiger gave to not calculate the same thing over on each move (look for new moves!), and that every position is different, is very appropriate to improvement for Class players.

6 thoughts on “Thursdays Final Round – Jan 2012

  1. That was nice defending there. πŸ™‚

    Not sure I would have taken 15. exf6 – that brings the knight into the game and opens up a ton of lines for black. Just take the bishop right away, and even if you drop a pawn on e5 the queen immediately gets back into the game through f4.

    As played, 18. Qc4 is probably better than a3 – e6 is tender and black pushing d5 at that point drops c5.

    BTW: 62. Rg8 is a lot easier! *laugh* (but that’s hard to see on the delay)

  2. I don’t defend being piece up (I just defend), I would gladly do it for the piece. πŸ™‚
    21. Nd1 was keeping your advantage at ~3. I don’t quite understand 21. f5.
    If 62. Rg8 then g1=N+, so Bxf2 is better.
    All in all you played well and completely deserved the win.

  3. ack yikes, didn’t think about the underpromtion – good point!
    (This is why i’m still lower than you guys πŸ™‚ )

  4. It seems like your opponent made a mistake with 11…bxc6 as it closes up the file and makes the queen awkward on c7. Black needs to make use of the c file in the Sicilian. (I have reading some Mednis on the Sicilian to ease my own woes against the Sicilian with the White pieces!)

    Wouldn’t 11…Qxc6 been the slightly better move there?

    And that was fun watching you get your queen out of the exile! That happens to me a lot! I will exile a piece but then I never extricate it.

    That was a fun game to go through LinuxGuY!

  5. Thanks, guys!! πŸ™‚

    Here’s my color-commentary on the game.

    2…e6. Hurray! I can get in a comfortable, if not more equal game with 3.c3, but I really wanted to pound this one in and played 3.d4 because I am going back to my first-love, playing the Open Sicilian, and without the experience factor I figure my younger opponents will easily get into trouble.

    4…a6, now Black is just begging for it (to be beaten).

    6…Bb4, this is like the “pin variation” without even having the benefit of it being as good as that somewhat dubious variation.

    8.Qe2 – if 8..d5, 9.e5.

    11…bxBc6. TommyG is right! I thought this was slow in the game, and if Black doesn’t develop those pawns quickly, then it’s just bad bishop. 11…QxBc6 is a little bit better, although I was mostly prepared for this as I have to mostly concern myself with best replies at the board.

    12…Bb7. I had hoped for this, as it seemed that only 12..e5 would hold on.

    13.e5! All Black can choose between here is the least losing move. Black is losing here, IMHO, but even an engine will tell you it’s close to equal because an engine has no true concept of the “bigger picture”.

    15. exf6, it looked like Black’s attack is coming no matter what, and originally wasn’t going to take on f6.

    18.Qa3. I am leery of 18.Qc4 because of 18..Rad8 (the a6 pawn doesn’t matter yet) and then 19…d5, 20.Qxc5 Bxg+ wins my queen (it doesnt though because the d5pawn is now blocking the Bc6). I didn’t want my queen as a target for Black’s development and it was tough to put her in mothballs the way I did, even if I’m not so hot with queens in the first place.

    21. f5. These are the sort of active defensive moves which I can find in a reasonable amount of time. I am much worse at finding the passive defensive moves! This move prevents the threat of 21..Rh6, 22..Rxh3 mate, and it opens the position up for the bishops. A glib reply like 21..exf could lead to 22.Qb3+ trading queens, and I virtually forced her to trade off the knight for a pawn, plus Bg5 was also a looming move.

    25. Re2. Believe it or not this was a hard move for me to find, which is why I am only 1800ish.

    27…Bf3 seemed bad, but I didn’t have time to figure it out. This also describes the rest of the game, play on intution, gut, experience, no time to think twice now.

    The ending was more dramatic-looking than the last few moves I gave, which are not accurate. In the final position I let her take my rook on f6 with her king, then promoted with h8(Q)+ and immediately tapped her Rc3 twice, signalling that I was taking it on my next move no matter what. I had also sham-sacked a pawn a few moves before that. I had seen it all in advance and played all of this literally as fast as I could move my hands, that she never even saw the skewer until I took her rook.

    She had stopped writing down her moves when I reaches 5 minutes and she was at 9 minutes, and I didn’t even stop writing down my moves until I was under 4 minutes! Perfectly legal on her part, but questionable gamesmanship. It may even be illegal because she should wait for me to stop writing down moves first, as I was still writing all of them down. She has used a blitzing tactic like this against me before, but she waited too long into the game to do it. Truthfully, I was only upset in the sense that she was not bothering to keep score of this nice game to turn in (that made two of us). I’ve come to expect a little bit of the gamesmanship against me.

  6. 11 … bxBc6 is fine, but you’re correct in that 12 … Bb7 is just losing. After you play f4 there, Black has to auto-respond with … e5. If you then push f5 the knight just swings over to c5 and takes off your light-squared bishop – the danger is mostly gone at that point, and black has a nice mass of central pawns for any endgame.

    I play the … e6 Sicilians as black – that “french bishop” gets stuck a bit more than I’d like, but I’m working on it. πŸ™‚

    Don’t dismiss the Kan (4 … a6) so easily – it’s fine as an opening. I play 4 … Nc6, but they can be quite similar. I definitely don’t like how long the knight stayed on b8 in this game though – that IS kinda asking for it.

Leave a Reply

