Thursdays Mar 2012 – Final Round

Round 5

My opponent, who only a couple of months ago was rated 1861, seemed a little tired and chessed-out from his chess lessons earlier in the day. It happens though, some days you just don’t quite have it. That, and a teency bit of opening preparation seemed to go a long way. If I really studied openings with the energy of a teenager on coffee, I would play with “no sweat” all the time. 🙂

Like I told him after the game “After a3, I was White. After h3, I was White with an extra tempo.”

5 thoughts on “Thursdays Mar 2012 – Final Round

  1. You are right about a3 and h3. The whole gambit is suspicious and playing those moves instead of development and attacking …
    Computer gives you ~1.8 even before gxf3 and even he plays Bxf3 after Nh4 he is just lost.

  2. I wasn’t even considering ..Nh4, so thanks for that suggestion! 🙂

    Based on reflection and what he had said after the game, it made me realize that he was right, he should not be playing gambits. He likes to attack with development and much later in the game, when it comes as more of a shock. In the opening, I can micro-analyze his attack and manage it better and he can’t pressure me on the clock.

    I could have played ..f5 instead of ..Ra8-e8, was going to, but then decided “Why even give him a consolation check with Qe6+?” He had nothing to play for with queens off, so lost heart much more quickly, and the clocks really did not come into play at all in this game.

  3. It looks like you didn’t play on Wednesday and Thursday, right?
    I played yesterday, had a huge advantage against ~1470 rated guy and with 2 minutes remaining (he had 1) missed perpetual. Together with 2 recent losses to ~1670 and ~1550 I already lost all my last gains, though both tournaments still have more than half left. I hope I will be in a better state of mind soon.

  4. RollingPawns, thanks for the reply!

    G/90 is an energy game. Also, don’t be surprised if you win all of those games that you lost, if it were a G/2 time-control. If you are tired, and a weaker player is fresh and plays fast on the clock, then it is very easy to beat one’s self on the clock. I lost my game on Wednesday, and I felt my opponent had something to do with it, but it was more the state I was in, bound to blunder sooner or later at some point because of fatigue and clock-time. Also, that opponent had lost 5 games to me and has won the last two because he used to take all of his time against everybody, and now blitzes and plays a Reti sort of opening, and waits a while before attacking. He’s obviously now more interested in rating points all of a sudden.

    I was talking with an Expert that was once Master rated, the other day. He said that it’s better to risk losing and play aggressively in order to get better rather than this G/90 strategy, which I have observed, that many have picked up where you play e3 and Be2, etc as White, saving lots of clock-time in the opening, and then attack late when your opponent is low on time and it’s impossible to defend due to needing to make quick moves on the clock.

    RollingPawns, you are a fast player by nature, when you want to be, and it’s interesting that even you say you had a winning position but essentially lost on time. So I feel I am right about this, if even a good blitz player such as yourself is pressured for time. Any bozo (even class E players) can make obvious looking moves quickly on the clock and gain a clock-advantage out of that, and the only thing that can counter that (besides blitzing back) is to save energy and clarity for the end of the game.

    Faster time-controls are usually an advantage to the weaker player, since by definition (some games may be different) they usually think or see less anyway, hence why they are weaker, so that it handicaps the person who normally sees deeper into the position. At slower, traditional time controls where a game can last up to 6 hours, a winning position should be a win. Although even at those time-controls, I am sure some people played intentionally for endgames and not openings, just to get into that second time-control and make the game all about that part of the time-control.

    The big thing though is about being fresh and having energy. It’s probably even more important than chess-skill, sad to say, unless that chess skill is amazingly efficient, which I suppose is possible, but that is usually about energy or clarity as well.

    You lost to lower-rated players, this can happen to any of us. It would still be interesting to see the games. This is why it’s important to look at the games and not the ratings, and why I didn’t like when Chesstiger would simply point out that they probably lost because they were lower-rated, which is by definition why they would lose and has nothing to do with chess. It’s like saying why a great sports team beats a weak sports team, because they are better, well that is a no-brainer but not an exact reason. Also, that better team could end up being the dog next season, which is why coaches think about games, not seasons.

    I think you will turn it around, in your tournament. I usually do as well, but it still stinks to get those unexpected negative surprises for any reason, which always seem to come up at some point during a tournament.

  5. I understand and agree with what you say about time and energy.
    There was actually a mate in 3 at one point and I saw it when it was already late. I would probably see it having more time, not just a few minutes left.
    Yeah, energy and focus are crucial, master maybe can play a game on autopilot, but we can’t, we need all we have to play a good game.
    We should not underestimate lower rated, that guy by the way had 1900+ rating 15 years ago, it’s just an age. He still made a few good moves including seeing that perpetual. They can’t play all the game at 1800 level, but they can make sometimes a move like that and it could be enough for a win/draw.

Leave a Reply

