June Mating Game – Conclusion

Round 3 was a rather ugly opening affair, but I knew that if I just stuck with it I would eventually pull out a win.

Round 4 was the first time that I have played Jeff Fox, an elderly gentleman. I had planned 19..Rae8, but went for a dubious positional plan without error-checking, and saw my blunder as soon as I had released the piece. In fact, even 19..Rae8 is losing, but 19..Kh8 is the only saving move, and yet is equal. Here is why 19..Kh8 is necessary. Round 4 analysis

Incidentally, my ..f5 move was not best, nor good really. I was okay letting him play a pawn to f6 because Ne6 can protect against a Qg7 mate.

Tonight I played Daniel again, who I might add, attends a chess camp all day long every day, and then gets chess lessons after that one-on-one with an Expert. I deserve more than a pidly couple of rating points for beating these kids, I feel, or should play more players at my own rating instead. Just playing these kids is like playing Russian-Roulette with one’s rating.

Wednesday Night’s Round 3 Game. Yes, I had to blitz out until until mate, but it probably didn’t take a second of clock time to do it, ended up with 12 minutes left by game’s end.

I missed a tactical shot 12..c6 followed by 13..Qxe4+. I had seen this possibility previously but in my mind didn’t want to open the e-file, nor allow a tempo by playing a weak positional move, which could lead to a tactical shot.

Incidentally, if you play this line I should inform you that I spent nearly twenty minutes on move 5 because I realized that I had botched the move over. …cxb2, …Bb4+ and THEN ..d5. As I played it, I not only allowed Bxd5 instead of exd5, but I was crossing my fingers that he would not play the line 6.Bxf7+ Ke7. 7.QxQ KxQ, 8.Bxb2 when White is down a pawn yet has the bishop pair against my very loose and undeveloped king. But actually, I missed that 6.Bxf7+?? loses to ..KxBf7, 7.QxQ bxBc1(Q)+! I believe I missed this because I had blended it in my mind, associatively, with a variation where I play 5…c2, 6.Bxf7+ Ke7, 7.QxQ KxQ, 8.Nc3, where White is +.7

The lesson her is to get one’s variations straight. I would suggest to mentally number your variations, and then make a mental note of the exact line, roughly at least 4 moves deep, for each variation. Part of strength is technique, and this one is not about chess knowledge at all, but rather about how you process your analysis at the board.

Not a perfect game by far, but it got the job done tonight.

2 thoughts on “June Mating Game – Conclusion

  1. Game 3: That was about the weirdest way to play a Dragon I’ve ever seen. I thought the whole point of playing the Accelerated was to be able to play 7 … d5, and then he just passively traded off everything while allowing you to keep the stranglehold on d5. I also wish I could play 1600s that leave me dead-obvious skewers like that!

    Game 4: What an interesting opening. It ended up a Symmetrical English. Any reason for not playing 4 … e6 and trying to get into a “proper” QID? Just a couple of tactical oversights in this one, it looks like. (21 … Qe6 is about even).

    vs Daniel: You aren’t kidding about “Rating Roulette” – he played much better than the first 1600 I think.

  2. In Round 3 his troubles started with 28… a4, completely unnecessary and then Kf8??

    Round 4 – tough game, he got a strong attack on the kingside and Kh8 is not easy to see.

Leave a Reply

