Coffeehouse Chess

in my final round game of the month against Rhett, I went for a weird attack. My attack was based on intuition, I had calculated that I had had nothing concrete but went for it anyway because at G/90, if you look at something long enough you are almost forced to play it if it isn’t an immediate blunder (for time limitation reasons). I say this because at 40/2, G/1 when I did well it seemed that most of what I looked at was never played.

22.Qg4?? was virtually the end of the game, but even after 22.Qh3 e5, Black’s two extra unopposed center-pawns carry through remarkable according to Fruit even though White can create scary-looking positions, in part because White’s king is no spring-chicken either.

33.Kb1? isn’t good, but Rhett spent a lot of time here to find winning lines, and we both knew that the pawn push could be stopped (Black has ample queenside and center pawns to carry the day).

If anything positive, I would classify this as an intuition-strengthening game. Once again, I had not had sleep in almost 24 hours while playing this game, not even so much as 1 minute nap. I felt fine, but perhaps it explains my dreamy choice of play a bit more.

5 thoughts on “Coffeehouse Chess

  1. I think here you repeated the thing you did before – playing too aggressively against higher rated player. My experience says that it seldom pays off – rather the opposite would be better – when your opponent does it.
    Probably just defending d4 pawn instead of e5-e6 would be OK and if Qxb2 then Rb1 and you get the pawn back with the knight on a6 hanging.
    Yeah, your attack looks scary a bit, but his king can very well hide on the queenside. Again, it could work against 1500-1600 rated guy, but not 1900.
    Just play normal positional chess and they will sac themselves and lose. 🙂

  2. haha, so true! 😀

    As poor as this game may be, it was pure gold for me to look at in terms of post-game analysis with Fruit!

    After e5..Nd7 (only move), White already has a won position with either 0-0-0 or 0-0 played immediately. Fruit likes 0-0-0, but 0-0 is stronger if you follow it a few more moves deeply. His ..Qb6? was actually a blunder, and taking either the b2 or d4 pawn leads to quick defeat, but it’s really bad in any case.

    Instead of …Qb6 (which seemed wrong to me OTB), …Nb4 is better (I thought he’d play this), but White is getting a solid attack after …Nb4xBd3, QxNd3, and actually even that appears winning for White based on initiative but is completely non-obvious unless you plug it into a computer. He should play …Nd7 and make me play a3 first to save a tempo from taking on d3 right away. Again, it’s not obvious but White is +-, over +1 positionally.

    The incredible thing is that he has played this same variation repeatedly against me. Of course, I am simply strengthening my “book” with each try.

    Rhett is a master at king-defense, which explains his “c’mon in and get some” style of play.

    Qh5-f7 was a mistake, and I simply didn’t know what to do or how to play this position unfortunately. Ne4 should have been obvious, and I wanted to play this later. Ne4 keeps open the possibility of of a Ba5 skewer, and after …Qxb2, Bc3, then Ng5 is getting in a nice += attack.

    I could have possibly saved the position with 15.Qe2 instead of 15.0-0-0?, only losing one pawn, holding it with a tactical defense, but Rhett has gotten strong in endgames and it is also difficult to admit one’s mistakes as White, OTB.

  3. I like 12. Ne4 instead of Qf7, yeah, skewer and Ng5 threats make it a strong move. Not sure about 15. Qe2, he just plays Nc5 and takes another pawn.

    I played in the club with the guy rated ~1680, won.
    I managed to positionally overplay him, had > +3 with equal material in 2R + B endgame and then he blundered and resigned.
    Will try to post both games soon.

  4. That’s what I thought, 15.Qe2 and then he takes another pawn. He asked me after the game why I didn’t played Qe2, but I think he meant in the later position. He also thought that e6 was simply dropping a pawn for me, which it was, but it wasn’t losing either.

    After 15.Qe2, Black can play …Nc5, 16.Be3 Qxd3, 17.BxNc5 QxQ+, 18.KxQ dxBc5, 19.Rd3 and now for instance if Black plays something like 19..Rd8 to defend the 7th rank directly, then 20.RxR KxR, 21.Ne4 and now it is Black’s move, he is up 2 pawns, and yet Fruit says that it’s dead equal. So, the position is much more delicate than one might assume – I am surprised by this.

    I am glad you have won both of your last two games! 🙂 Winning against high 1600 level players, that is what holding it down as a Class A player rating is all about. 😉

    I would like to have your sort of comeback with my tournament which starts on Wednesday. There will be no Thursday tournament this month because the TD left the state and no one else has wanted to TD it.

Leave a Reply

