Time-pressure Blunder

This game was played last Wednesday: Round 4

I have to hand it to Daniel, he didn’t try to blitz me until I started blitzing. I spent a long time on 23.e5, but the moves after that were blitzed out by both sides. White is simply winning this endgame after 26.Kg1 I saw the blunder as soon as I looked back up at the board after writing my move down. Of course I looked over at his king, hoping he wouldn’t see it, but that doesn’t work when you give a lower-rated player the chance of a lifetime to take down a much higher-rated player – that works better in street-chess than tournament chess. Now that I look at it, I probably could have won even with 26.RxN! (all of his pawns are loose) Not that I need to do that, but there was certainly no reason to lose from this position.

I was still trying to write my moves down as I played, and finished with three and a half minutes remaining. If this were 30/90, G/30, this would be a routine win for me. I felt after this game that I need to play 30/60, G/30. One might think that at this time-control (G/90) one has 1 hour more than at G/30, but that isn’t exactly true because at G/30 you miss the whole endgame, so even G/30 is really G/60 if you added any kind of semi-respectable endgame to it.

Leave a Reply

