Rattled

In this Round 2 game, I had White against William, which one would think would be a slam dunk given the ratings difference. However, I’ve come to see that there are a lot of underrated players who take lessons from this Master-level coach all the time. This town is so coached-up that it’s not even funny.

This game was rather intense for me; at the beginning I was just throwing down the moves, nothing special, and in fact kept missing that e5 would give me a sizeable advantage. I played g4, and by the time the pawn was passing through the g3 square I had a chill run up my spine as I had realized that I forgot about the e4 square. I was hopping I might be able to bluff a bit, but he just kept up the pressure.

I realized that his …Nc5 instead of …Nf6 was a big mistake, but it wasn’t until move 20…dxc? that I realized that the game was going in my direction and that I should somehow find the win, all things considered. As soon as I had recaptured on f2 with my bishop, once again the hairs on the back of my head were tingling considering the ..f5 threat (White still has the advantage with cxd), and just like that the biggest pressure on me was to find a correct tactical finish.

I didn’t play the best, sharpest tactics, but for my level it was all that was required to win. At G/90, I feel that any win is good, because it’s just not enough time to play honest chess from all of these positions, which puts so much pressure on finding or defending against the killer-attack.

One thought on “Rattled

Leave a Reply

