A Part of History

So I go to Panera, thinking I’d probably get paired with Fred S., somehow thinking that Paul A. and Imre, the top two players would be playing, but then I found out I was getting to play Imre as White – thank heavens it was with White.

I got there right before pairings were announced, so I was caught off guard a little bit about what to play against Imre. Of course, I should have played the Open Sicilian because Imre is going to be super-strong positionally, but what to do, one has to play moves and I was fine with c3, particularly after seeing his …Nf6 rejoinder.

Well, I did my level best, but nothing came of it until the very end. Imre is tough, and one sharp-cookie, positionally.

No lie, on move 14, before playing d5, I thought to myself that Paul Anderson would probably play 14.Rc1 here, and win in some unspecified manner. Guess what? Fruit loves Rc1! I don’t even know what the move does other than it’s not a marginal move like the one I played.

I had offered Imre a draw earlier, once it became apparent that we should both keep our rooks on our second-rank and call it a day, but he wanted to play on a little longer. So, after I played 38.b4 he said “Okay, it is a draw then!” waving his hands. He was right that the position was 0.0, but I wasn’t strong enough to know that! and so played on, thinking that I was winning when I was not. Nevertheless, Imre quickly threw out …38.a5?? which I knew was losing (I knew that …Kc5 was losing too, but didn’t realize that ..b5 was not losing), and I blitzed out the win.

At one points, Imre had around 54 minutes to my 12 minutes. I got down to 2:33 on the clock and then seemed to make my last 15 moves without spending any time. He was blitzing me in my time-pressure, which was obviously only exhausting and frustrating him a bit, but not myself. Are you kidding, I love it when people do this to me!

I didn’t even realize that this was the final round until Dean Browne was shoving money in my face – I love when he does that. hehe.

Anyway, Imre was on the cover of Chess Life or the Colorado Chess Informant back in 1964 when he was state co-champion. That was before I was born! πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “A Part of History

  1. You played a good game. He wasn’t careful, kind of strange that he didn’t calculate that pawn ending having enough time. He probably was sure that it’s a draw and maybe you will make some mistake because of the time trouble.
    I did kind of the same thing yesterday having a queen vs. rook and knight and thinking that it’s won, but I had 20 minutes less and underestimated his passed “h” pawn. In the end I had to give up my queen for that pawn and rook.
    I was very upset.
    On Monday I won against ~1540 rated guy, didn’t use my advantage in the opening, but in the end he missed a combo.

  2. I remembered you when I played Ne5 in that game, and how many times you told me to play it in such positions. πŸ™‚

    I wish that G/90 was real chess, but it isn’t, so don’t sweat the loss from that game you were probably winning.

    My game on Thursday was embarrasing, I was up two queens and won with only 25 seconds left on my clock, even after he had blundered a full rook for nothing. Like I told him, at G/2 I would realize that I am up a b-pawn and will win, but at G/90 I feel like I have no such advantage in same position because king defense takes time from clock.

    You should post that loss, you haven’t posted one of your games for a month.

    You are where I am now, we both went up to 1900 or close, and then both went to 1600’s, and then back up to mid 1700’s (my new rating is 1760).

    The big thing now is how we approach the game. I need to know my openings ahead of time. Everyone has some thing to work on like this, I’m not sure what yours is. Actually, I think for you it is combinations (not tactics). When I have drilled up on combo’s, I have been able to spot them over the board relatively quickly, deep ones, and you can knock out higher-rated opponents quickly that way. You are a builder, which is excellent, and build up so many winning positions, often during the same game, but then need to pull that trigger.

    Unfortunately, many of our games are positional and one can lose indirectly OTB due to the clock having it’s say.

    I’ve found it’s better to lose on time, have that mentality, because if you don’t lose on time they may just blunder somewhere down the line and simply give something to you, a way out, and the one _must_ be incredibly good at blitzing late in the game, have the energy then, and luckily this is the one thing I have always been good at since I began tournament chess, blitzing out the end of a game – it’s not good or desirable, but relative to my opponents it seems I have nearly always been superior at it, just can’t be tired going into that phase of the game.

  3. You are right about the combos, I need that. A simple combo decided the game on Monday, I remember a few years ago I missed that myself and since then it’s
    at least a second time I do it. My mid 1700’s will go down probably after Thursday’s tournament.
    I got today my FIDE official rating, that cheered me up.
    It’s not high – 1757, still nice to have it.

  4. At least know when someone asks you your rating you can say “Yeah, but it’s _FIDE_ 1757!” hehe. πŸ˜‰

    In some purely positional way, we could exert GM understanding of some positions. This must be partly because we have been studying chess for so long. I first started recording my “serious” games with my best friend, and studying chess books 30 years ago, and a lot of these GMs of today weren’t even born then!

    Here is a combo from the Women’s world championship which just ended today. It is from Game 4:

    http://kevinspraggett.blogspot.co.uk/

    You can find the full games here:
    http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail.asp?newsid=8679

    I forsaw that this 16…Bh2?! idea was rather horrible and that White was going to get a big attack after 17..Bf4, 18.Ne2. I saw this by feel relatively quickly, while GM Khalifman, who was commentating on the games, looked at f3 and if he came back to Nce2 it was way long after I had seen it.

    I would have played, much more quickly than the new women’s champion did, …Ne5, …Ng6, and then possibly ..Bf4, and a …Nf4 can always jump back nicely to e6! This is what one sees after studying games of Petrosian, deep positional ideas.

    BUT, I missed the combo and the sense that White’s attack was devastating. I figured it was probably just +- but not winning for sure. GM Khalifman was chalking up the win like 10 moves before I saw it. haha. These GMs, it’s mostly combinative ability which they possess.

    It took me quite a while to work out the the Nh6 sac was winning. There were more direct wins, but it was rather extraordinary how Stefanova won it the proper way by placing Black into zugzwang in the midde-game, combo by zugzwang!!

    Also, in game 3, I could sense that Stefanova’s …e5 would easily lose the game well before she played it, and she spent a really long time on this horrible, terrible move. But the GMs specialty are figuring out the complications which ensue. Even Khalifman thought this was the most brilliant win, but I thought it was the stupid win, but Khalifman can see all of the tactics with such ease, as in toss the pieces up in the air and they land on the right squares. hehe. So, I don’t know why he thought it was brilliant if he seemingly effortlessly saw the tactical win himself.

    Oddly, Stefanova played …e5, IMHO because she didn’t see positionally, that White had no play _unless_ she played a bone-headed move like …e5. Black was better and White needed many moves to regroup. I feel as if I were the only one in the room who got this concept without time or effort spent.

Leave a Reply

