Say Goodbye to Endgames

Well, the theme in both of my games this week was the same. Much like a comically recurring Southpark skit “Hey, you killed Kenny!”, G/90 for me has become “Hey, you killed the endgame!”

In Wednesday’s game, I had a winning attack against Alex, but then came the 800 lb. gorilla in the room, the clock.

Wednesday Round 2

I was going to play 19.Rc2, having seen his Bg5 coming in advance, and it looked very convincing, but then in time-pressure made the ill-fated decision to “streamline” the game, by getting rid of his “good” bishop and simplfying the attack in time-pressure. Actually, in time-pressure there is no time for a real endgame, only checkmates.

I was planning on playing 23.Qxb6 (+.6), but then blurted out 23.Re7?? instead, getting way ahead of myself, and the position. I played this continuation with Qxb6 against Fruit, and it was mate after 96 moves. Mate in 96 moves at G/90 is virtually synonymous with losing on time for all but the wunderkinder, and the clock managers.

I can’t even recreate the rest of the game, but needless to say I made many glaring blunders.

In Thursday’s game, after 4.5 hours of sleep, which was disciplined for me, I was very tired during the first half of the game, probably because the day before I had signed papers for re-financing my house, and even left my phone there. So yeah, my mental stress for the week, along with not being able to fix the wires for my car’s breaks after an hour, and so driving around town with no break lights, yet again.

Thursday Round 2

Dwayne played a “fishing pole” move, Ng5 with h4, which is a cult-theme for Colorado for those not in the know, everyone in CO is supposed to know the “fishing pole” like the back of their hand. I played ..h6 fully expecting h4 way in advance.

As soon as I had played 12…Ne8, I knew I had blundered the exchange. Funny how this move isn’t easy to see until after making the blunder. Nevertheless I still had to throw cold-water on my face to wake up, a few moves after this.

After 36…Bc1 it was really hard to create the rest of the game, because it was so planless – it’s like trying to remember a lack of reasoning. But, the game generally went like this nevertheless, although I probably had a Bd5 instead of a Be4. With Nd5 and Be4, Black has a dead won endgame.

After DuWayne blundered(?) his c4 pawn, I offered a draw, but he had 2 1/2 minutes to my 1/2 minute. A loss is a win, and a win is a loss at that time advantage, apparently. I played completely aimlessly, other than for a short attempt to win his d4 pawn.

I called my own flag when all that was left on the board was his king, rook pawn on h4, and queen, vs my king and knight. He had 9 seconds remaining, but curiously he has an Excalibur clock which ran all the way to 0 after I had flagged and resigned.

If only this were 30/90 G/30, or 40/90, G/30. Either way, there would be time for a nice endgame, and draw offers would still hold some relevance or better yet not be needed until it was an obvious thing. If only….

Say Goodbye to Hollywood

One thought on “Say Goodbye to Endgames

  1. You had good chances in the both games. In the first you didn’t have to sacrifice an exchange, your rook is “good” too. And yeah, Re7 is a big blunder.
    In the second game yes, you have an advantage in the endgame, but it’s difficult to find the right moves, especially in the time trouble.

Leave a Reply

