Wednesdays Jan 2013, Round 2

In Round 2, I played Fred with the White pieces, and he went for a Sicilian Defense, instead of his normal Pirc/Modern Defense.

I felt Bc4 would have been the real test, but played it bland, more in hope-chess fashion since he gave me a4 and then when I played Kh1 (I figured I should have just played Be3), he didn’t challenge me with ..d5.

If he had played ..0-0 instead of ..h6, even his sham-sac would have worked fine. I basically didn’t do anything with this game other then let the lucky win drop into my lap. šŸ˜‰ I kinda figured since he doesn’t play Sicilian much that my lackluster play might be okay for one lucky win.

RollingPawns, you should post one of your games. We are all in this 1700’s morass together. šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Wednesdays Jan 2013, Round 2

  1. His taking on e4 looks really bad.
    As I remember watching back in Russia the young champion of our region ( 3 million people ) playing, he was saying a few times during the friendly game: “Waiting for a … (word I could translate as a bad move)”. He usually was getting it. šŸ™‚
    I don’t have time to play, let alone post games.
    I played on Monday with 1600+ after a one month break, beat him before, but this time it was equal until I made mistake and lost a pawn. It was like the champion said, he then exchanged the queens and we got opposite-colored bishops. šŸ™‚
    We eventually drew, of course.

  2. Nice. At least your games are not decided by time-pressure like my games are, it’s just straight-chess all the way through your games.

    If I ever got into a 40/2, G/1 tournament, I think I’d be rolling people up, or at least getting some nice draws as Black. I should play for big-money U1800, at that time-control. I could make some serious cash. šŸ˜‰

  3. I wonder what that word you couldn’t translate actually means in Russian. Sounds interesting. We don’t have many words in chess for that besides blunder and inaccuracy šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

