Spellbinding Snap-mate

Wednesdays Round 2

I played Justice for the first time. This was sort of a big-event for me because I knew this meant that I would be faced against the dreaded “cheesecake” opening – dreaded because it dares Black to go for more than just a draw.

Justice had crushed Anthea, who is usually around 1800 at slow tournaments, in round 1. I didn’t realize it until I went over the game with Fritz that this is one of the best games that I have ever played.

During the game, I thought that pushing …d4 instead of ..cxd would have been more forcing, but they were both -+, strongly in favor of Black. During a game, I often have this warped sense that the other player’s position is better when it isn’t. I was planning on playing ..Qf6, but decided to throw in the ..Ng4 move first just to see.

This turns out to be a more important game than might appear because what we often face as Black are lower-rated players who want to play a technical system which ensures a draw or possibly more.

3 thoughts on “Spellbinding Snap-mate

  1. That was a thematic mate – it’s not not often you get to make it.
    Funny that you make a play with just a two pieces.

  2. The process of car shopping can be lengthy. You have so many options, not to mention
    things to consider as you compare each one.
    You will be able to make the right decision if you know enough about car shopping.
    Here are some great tips on buying a car.

Leave a Reply

