Find the Win

Round 2, Thursdays

Imre showed me 1.e4 for the first time. I decided to play …e5 to test his positional play, maybe learn something even if I lose. Well, he simply did not play for an openings advantage and let me dictate the initiative, even though the computer most often thought it equal, or that White still had an edge for a long while.

Nevertheless, the game came down to blunders, nearly all mine, in a sharp technical finish. his …Qxc4 move was a blunder, I realized this, but I failed to calculate or simply know that Qxf3 was winning. QxQ was boneheaded – trying to save time for the endgame. Allowing the rook trade was the end of the game, final blunder. Simply ..Kg7 holds the balance, and this should have been a common-sense move, but I lacked it here.

Me and Alex spent a long time examining the queen ending after the game.

3 thoughts on “Find the Win

  1. I liked your position with queen and bishop attacking f3.
    It’s not easy to see that Qxf3 wins, because he takes on h6 too.
    But I agree, this is a critical position where you have to calculate (if you have a time).
    Yeah, rooks exchange is a big blunder, because the pawn ending is lost for you.

  2. I hope the reason of your silence is not that you are offended by irregularity of my comments.
    I can’t manage to play on Thursdays since a middle of December, that maybe will tell you something. I feel a bit less stressed and busy now and will try to comment regularly, also hopefully restore my postings. I played yesterday and won, it was an easy win.
    The guy had a rating ~1500 which is provisional after one game and doesn’t correspond to his real level of play, though it still took about 30 moves to mate him.

  3. RollingPawns, thanks for the reply!

    I’m glad you won your game and are still playing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do get more motivated online when you post your games. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Trust me, you have not offended me.

    It’s just one of those things. My last two game at the G/30 tournament, I should have won. My opponents seemed very nervous, but I was relaxed and didn’t feel bad about losing the games to my friend Alex and Tim B. who is now a chess author. I was happy that both of their ratings shot up a result.

    Alex was showing me his win, and thought he had made a great move, but got pissed at me when I played it from his opponent’s side (a weaker opponent) and mated Alex in three moves. He got upset because I derailed his winning queen sac which he was leading up to.

    Anyway, I just came to the realization over time that if you don’t win you don’t get the same level of respect. I could help other player’s game improve, and have done so, but if they don’t want my help then that’s fine too, it’ll just make it easier for me in any case, lighten my load.

    This isn’t directed at anyone online though. The only thing directed online would be our collective level of uninvolvement in each other’s blogs (the chess-blogosphere in general). hehe. I thank you for being my friend and sticking through all of the good times and bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have apathy toward my current situation, but not toward my passion for chess, whether I play in tournaments or not. I can’t really get weekends off to play in tournaments, and Thursday is the best night for chess, but I am just not the same player after a day of work. On Wednesdays, the players are weaker, and we don’t have our own chess-room like we have on Thursdays, but I don’t have to work before playing a game.

    I will post my games, try to post them tomorrow.

    Here’s a tactical blunder at the Rejkjavic Open. I found the answer, but it’s just one position, one problem, and a forced one at that. That’s the thing about chess, if it were only about one position….

Leave a Reply

