A Tale of Two Sides of the Board

March Thursdays Final Round

For nineteen move, neither side moved neither a piece nor pawn beyond our fourth ranks. Perhaps this was a sign that we were both still licking our wounds from the previous rounds toll, trying to steady ourselves. And then, and then it was over on move twenty when the first pawn crossed the frontier. 20.e5! is already decisive.

Another funny thing is that on many moves during the game, I had looked at this sac 19.e5!! dxe, 20.Nxc6 bxc6, 21.Bxc6, but had given up looking at it, never thinking that if he moves ..Re8, and his other rook is still on …a8, which was very likely, then this sac would work.

Expert chessplayer Paul Anderson pointed out that I could have played the sac sooner, and that 24.Qc3 is much more decisive than 24.Kh1 – threatening to take the knight on c5 and also Bxf7+ with the discovery RxQ.

On move twenty-nine, if 29…Rd8, I was prepared to play 30.Bd6, attacking the queen, followed by 31.Nf5 putting the question to the bishop, and exchanging on d6 would add a pawn and lanes to my attack against his king.

Once upon a time I played chess this well, just not at G/90, but perhaps it’s getting there.

5 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Sides of the Board

  1. This is in response to RollingPawns comment/game from his blog:

    lol at duplicate endgame win. That’s funny, but that’s how it goes! I’m glad your rating is going back toward 1800 – mine is at 1750 now, but we should both be able to make it back up there soon (perhaps I should even want to keep it just below 1800 and then play in a big tournament! – I wish I could such time off approved, have plenty of vacation days, they just keep denying my requests).

    I watch Imre’s games and no matter who he plays it seems he is always winning some equal material endgame, whether the opponent is rated high or low.

    My game seems to depend more on my health and my tactical sharpness. This is probably because obvious defensive moves, such as the ones that _you_ can blitz out, can take sometimes ten minutes for me to find. If my defensive technique in tense, but unsprung positions were better then my rating would be quite higher, I suppose.

    I’m glad that your games are going well and that it is now Spring! Even in Colorado, it’s so beautiful now that the Winter is over. πŸ™‚

    RollingPawns, in your game against Kajan, you can get a lot more out of your middlegame if you play something like 14.Bc1-d3-c3. Then Ng5-e4. f4, Rh1-f1-f3, Raf1, then f4-f5 push when f7 square can fall for Black or Rg3 or h4 depending on how Black responds. Can try to wrap this game up in the middlegame as White has a promising advantage here.

    The reason I like this line 15… b6 16. Bxc5 bxc5 for Black is because it is in the vain of a Russian “old-school” type of dynamic response. For example, imagine …Rb8, ..Rc8, …Nb6-d5-b4-d3, and if b3, then c4 trades pawn (otherwise c3 is a passer), and now Black is getting under White’s underbelly on the queenside, and that e5 pawn can become a target as well. Whereas, in the middlegame scenario in the paragraph above, that e5 pawn stands iconic in the midst of a glorious looking kingside attack by White.

    After 8…Nxe5, look at the middlegame possibilites beginning with Black’s light-square weaknesses, which are in abundance. There is Bb5, Qf3 (attacking f7 light square). There is Ne4, even Nc4. Captures can occur on c6, d7, d5, all light squares! I can’t even see the endgame because the middlegame is so bright, I have to wear shades! hehe. πŸ˜‰

  2. Thank you for your comments, I’ll answer separately.
    I was moving starting from Wednesday, so just now getting to my senses.
    But I managed to play another game on Thursday and win, this time a middlegame battle.
    Regarding your game: there is always a best move …
    This combo with Bxf7 is really good, I love this position after 32. Qd5+., too bad he didn’t let to make a smothered mate. πŸ™‚

  3. hehe. Thanks, RollingPawns. Nice to here that your moving went smoothly. πŸ™‚ It’s funny how even the weaker player will find the smothered mate and not allow it.

  4. Regarding my game with Kajan: I agree, I could play more actively in the opening.
    Again, it’s just because of the first round after missing 2 whole tournaments and him being pushy and playing very fast I was kind of careful and defensive.
    These plans with f4, then f5 or with using the advantages of the IQP – knight on e5, active pieces, open lines – right… Though, he didn’t look like a bad middlegame player, so it’s possible it won’t be that easy and in the endgame he made a serious mistake.

  5. I understand, and it seems you did the right thing.

    Not sure what a correct plan necessarily looks like, and undoubtedly a computer would whoop me no matter what I did. But, like a wild animal that’s eaten the house pet, I’ve lost the fear of playing humans in tactical situations (from all of the crazy losses that I’ve already been through), and in chess the best question to be asking yourself is “So what’s the other guy gonna do?” So, as long as you are thinking concrete, given it is a concrete situation, and you are okay playing by feel (feel leads to what you will analyze), then I think it is okay.

    The little opponent flashing out moves things can still get to my if it leads deep enough into my time-pressure, for sure. πŸ˜‰

    For me, the concrete part is fun since it can be more difficult to find, consider, or decide on more general moves.

Leave a Reply

