Welcome to the Tactical Jungle

Wednesdays April 2013, Round 1

One thing we all have trouble learning is not to force the tactics as Black. The tactics will come; they always do.

A neat point of White’s Nd5 move was that there was some variation of ..Ng4, Nd5-Ne7+ then Nc6 forking Ba5 and Rb8. I saw this much OTB, but hadn’t calculated it 100% looking for additional zwischenzugs, since NxBe3 takes out some of the steam? (haven’t checked this yet). Just checked, it’s an insane looking tactical line where I get the bishop pair for rook and kingside pawn, yet double his kingside pawns and am +2 better, but how to win it?

I missed an even quicker tactic. 22.Bh6, then on …f6 or …f5 (Black must lose the Ra2 in any event), 23.Bc4+ wins the Ra2.

It was my dad’s Birthday today, so I had really wanted to win one for him, even if he doesn’t know that. After the game, spoke to him for the first time in a year, it was nice.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the Tactical Jungle

  1. His Nxd5 looks really strange, he himself goes under a deadly (because he can’t get out of it) kind of fork/pin. Re8 looks ingenious, but yeah, Rc5 beats it.
    Yes, 22. looks very strong and finishes game, still he is lost without a piece.
    Nice finish with a thematic mate. πŸ™‚

  2. If I was black I’d play on with …f5 and then if you played Bxf5 I’d play Rg1 and try to get a stalemate like a madman

  3. Gunnar, I like your thinking! πŸ™‚

    In this case, though, I could run my king up the light diagonal to a8 square, and when you deliver Ra3+, I play Ra7 and you are forced to trade rooks or get mated. And that’s what would have happened in his case, since I had over half an hour at the end of the game to figure out how to avoid the “super-rook” trap. πŸ˜‰

    I can see some crazy continuations where I can try to loop Black’s rook around and lure it onto the first rank, then eventually block the rook with a bishop or rook, most likely bishop. I think it will win, problem-like. I would take the draw in time-pressure, but with half an hour I would figure it out.

    No doubt Rb6+ instead of Bxf was more practical, winning that f-pawn straight away.

    BTW, thanks for convincing me not to go play G/30 quad tonight. I could see scenario above playing out at G/30. I chopped up a bunch of firewood instead. Need to save my time and energy for Wednesday and Thursday.

    In case anyone thought I am always easily blitzed. I just played this monstah game inside of 4 minutes:
    http://www.ficsgames.org/cgi-bin/show.cgi?ID=335673706

Leave a Reply

