Safety Game

Round 4

I hadn’t played much this week, missing the Denver Open, City Championship, and Wednesday’s tournament this week, so I was more in the mood of playing it safe.

After the game, I told Alex that my …b5 move was a “horrible blunder”, and this is part of why I shied toward the draw, this and the clock issue which G/90 is famous for. I had at least 26 minutes remaining, but this is sort of the spot to request a draw, before the play gets fast and furious.

Fruit likes continuing the game by trading rooks on d3, but I would most likely have played ..h6, BxNf6 (he said he would have played this) ..BxB followed by …Rd4 which Fruit says is -.1 in Black’s favor, but of course this can turn depending who plays the position better from there.

Here’s a blitz game with admittedly a lot more “awesome sauce” in it than in the one I played OTB. This one is for my friend Alex who likes to say “Nezhmetdinov – no reverse-gear, baby!”

4 thoughts on “Safety Game

  1. He didn’t see 12… Nxc6 or Nxf7, I can understand your desire to make a draw after that.
    I personally hesitate to offer a draw to a lower rated player, but everyone is different.

  2. It was a funny blitz game. In the end I expected that kind of mate. šŸ™‚
    I played last Monday and won against 300 lower rated guy, basically crushed him.
    Didn’t play well on Thursday against 1800+ guy with whom I had +2,-1 record in the past, was in the bad shape after not sleeping very well and very busy day with 3 meetings.

  3. Yikes, yes, can’t have energy to play after a lot of meetings jazz.

    Sounds like some good games, you are having fun! šŸ™‚

    The biggest dilemma I have with my chess is it’s not enough time or energy to play at G/90. Nowadays, it’s about clock-time more than energy. I would like to start my own tournament with a dual-time control, or at least a 30 second increment. That way, people could resign when they should resign. haha.

    There are too many opponents that play poor chess, and then bum-rush me on the clock and get away with it. It’s not even the clock-time so much as they will literally move their hands and pieces (especially kids) so quickly that you feel that you need to keep up with them or that you will lose on time if you don’t keep up with them, even though this isn’t the case – it’s a classic chess psyche-job that seems to work like clockwork (pun intended).

    My biggest worry is not winning or losing, my biggest worry is that chessplayers at G/90 have become “game managers” where the greatest skill is not to find the best or even a strong or even a particularly good move, but rather to know when not to think and move quickly. But this way no one improves their understanding of chess.

    For example, I improve more now when I study than when I play. For years, playing helped me more than studying, but this is no longer the case.

Leave a Reply

