Falling Apart Tactically

I should have lost this Game, but you wouldn’t know it by going over the game quickly; maybe because that is how the game was played, quickly. By the time his position was lost, he had spent just under 20 minutes on the game, and I was down to around 3 and a half minutes.

Luckily, he blitzed all game long, well up until he was losing anyway, didn’t even stop to get the kill-shot variation correct. I was fortunate to get a walk-through win when I was playing more like a chess-tourist after yesterday’s loss.

I spent the first five minutes deciding between a King’s Gambit or Spanish, not feeling I deserved to play the King’s Gambit just yet, but regretted not playing it as he went into his Philidoresque, Scotch-Gambit declined variation.

He was letting me off the hook, from a computer’s standpoint, on virtually every move. His first winning tactic which I didn’t see would have been a simple double-attack with 16….BxNf3, 17. RxBf3?? Qa5 (forking Re1 and Bg5). What can I say, I was chessically out of it, and he didn’t punish me for that (probably my high rating caused him to believe me somewhat).

20.Qe3?? At least I can say that I didn’t have time to analyze this move, which of course would still be my fault for frittering away my clock.

22…BxNf3?? Letting me off the hook. I knew this move was bad without any analysis necessary, but he could simply have won a piece with 22…Re8, 23.Qxd6 QxQ, 24.BxQ (24.RxRe8+ is the same difference) BxNf3, 25.RxRe8+ NxRe8, 26.gxBf3 NxBd6. As soon as Fruit showed me 24..BxNf3 was winning a pice, I could quickly see the rest on my own.

The rest of the game, I feel like I sort of intimidated him into the loss more by virtue of previous victories than by anything I did in this game. He sort of believed my attack and then let me through in some winning cheapos there, rather than let me suffer with his huge clock advantage.

The debacle that should have been, but wasn’t; it’s nice to be on the other side of one of these games. Maybe I got psyched out yesterday, and my opponent here got psyched out today. Like I say though, coming off a loss I was sleep-walking through this one, which is why I did it so convincingly.

2 thoughts on “Falling Apart Tactically

  1. I was very busy, sorry.
    I think you played in the opening like you are playing with the patzer and basically that’s how he responded. 🙂 You were lucky, but the lower rated players always find a way to lose.

    I played yesterday, lost again. Since our last game ( the score is +1, =1) the boy progressed from class “A” to expert and it showed. I had Black in Ruy Lopez and played all the right moves, even positional pawn sacrifice for two bishops advantage was OK, but when I had about 20 minutes left ( he had more) I got nervous, couldn’t calculate properly and made a series of mistakes losing the game. I think my shape is affected by my psychological state (being in middle of yet unofficial, still pretty nasty divorce process).
    It is possible I’ll take a bye on Thursday, one draw and 5 losses in January kind of ask for a break. Though all the losses were very educational, it is just too much education and you want to win at least one game. I hope things will get better next week.

  2. If we played a consultation game against anyone under 2100, with reasonable time-controls, I think we would never lose a game – you would keep my stupidness in check, and I would point out your missed wins. hehe.

    I played this blitz game yesterday, and took a look after the game thinking I should have won with 28.Rxc7, threatening 29.Bc4, and after 28…Qxe5, 29.Qxf7+ Kh8, 30.Rxb7 is curtains for Black, but I can’t find that sort of thing yet at blitz because my tactical ability is just too slow. Here is that game:

    http://www.ficsgames.org/cgi-bin/show.cgi?ID=351359957

    Sorry to hear about your unpleasant divorce process. Hopefully, you get it resolved as painlessly as possible, and I could see how this would affect your attention to chess in the meantime.

    Yeah, in that game, once he played …BxNf3 instead of something better, I had the feeling that things were not going to turn out so well for him. This was just as in my loss, I think my opponent knew things weren’t going to turn out well for me (we both did) when my attacks failed to produce anything (not that they should have).

    It sounds as if you had a very interesting game. I was reading one of those Amox-Rabbit discussions about how quick rating jumps could be done, and I agree with them that it could only be done in theory by faster play – less time-pressure. I go through different stages of time-pressure. The first one is when I am under 45 minutes, then 30, then 20, then 10, then 4, then 2, then 1, then 30 seconds, then 1 second. hehe.

    Psychological state will affect a lot, particularly at a fast time-control, and I consider G/90 a fast time-control unless of course playing like crap is considered acceptable, which it is to the vast many, as they are mostly in deep denial about how badly they play when making moves rapidly. My rapid-play is better than most, which is scary for them, because I think mine is pretty terrible, I can just spot their mistkes quickly usually.

    I find playing in the Winter to be kind of hard, and youth seems to exploit this difference from time to time, so I understand what you are saying about having things on one’s plate at this time of year.

    I think your results will pick up again. The yin and the yang of it is that they will probably try too hard to beat you next time with expectations in view, which will leave them wide-open after a blunder.

    I am thinking of playing the King’s Gambit tonight, but I have to say it is a foolish sort of opening for White in the majority of cases, but a great learning opening. hehe. Here is a masterful win played by the master of walking a tight-rope himself. Blackburne actually resigned after move 29 because 30.Nd5 is mate.

    http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1028804

    The thing I really like about this game is that Anderssen show you how pushing all of those pawns in front of the king for White isn’t so crazy after all because it shows that rook on h1 activation is the bigger idea than mere king safety, and the queen chase adds tempos for White. Anyway, this game really illustrates what White is trying to do when all things go “correctly” for White.

    I got disappointed with my King’s Gambit book this morning when the author suggested after …g4 that White must sac the Nf3 and lose because retreating moves lose too much time when actually Nf3…g1 is very thematic and White keeps attacking. It’s as if modern players are right about theory, but they just don’t understand all of the positional aspects that the old masters employed.

    Rollingpawns, don’t give up on yourself so soon. 🙂 Your Slav game with Black was really strong, and you seem to get great positions late in your games, whereas I typically get bullsh*t positions late in my games. 😉

Leave a Reply

