Positional Play

Round 1

I saw 16.Qg4 Bh6, but was not bright enough to find the follow-up move 17.Bc1! BxB, 18.RaxBc1.

20.b5? was not a strong move. 20.Qc2 (protecting the Bb2 and hitting h7 was stronger, more solid), and 20.Rxd was also better.

My new opponent, an older Hungarian gentleman, immediately played the game losing blunder 20…b6?? instead of 20…Qb6! because if 21.bxNc6 QxBb2, 22.c6xBd7 Qxd4+, 23. Kh1 Qd4xRc5. Always look for the threat-trails, this was something taught to me back when I was a 1400 level player, and look at me, still not correctly getting the job done on the board.

2 thoughts on “Positional Play

  1. It doesn’t look like Black had a good counter-play at any time and then b6 of course was a bad blunder. This is typical for the weak players – if their piece is attacked – to attack opponent’s piece, without any good counting as to what will happen.

  2. Yeah, you are right, after a while you can almost count on quick, blunderous mistakes at G/90.

    He played the losing …b6 almost as soon as I had taken my hand off of b5 and hit the clock. It’s virtually the same result as if he had grabbed my hand and shaken it congrats after my move. I played a quick losing move against Shand in that final round last month. Yes, One does come to half-expect quickly made blunders at this time-control.

Leave a Reply

