Those Durn Endgames

…you’ve tried scrubbing, you’ve tried rubbing, but still….ring around the endgame (collar)!

It’s my own fault that I didn’t save time for it. Here is the Round 2 Game

After the game, I told Alex I should have played 42.gxh4. I looked at it, but he had played h4 quickly, so I moved quickly back, mostly just believing him but also feeling that quickened rythm equals compulsion to move.

Well, after he plays hxg I _then_ spend a minute deciding whether or not to resign. That minute would have been better spent deciding the best move on the previous move. When I analyzed it this morning, it looked like a draw, but if I play how I probably would have during the game, I can still easily walk into a loss without finding necessary finesses; e.g., 46…gxh4, 47.Rd4! (I didn’t even see this while analyzing) Rg6, 48.Rxf Rxg, 49.Rxh5 Rxb2, 51.Rh7+ Kc8, 52. Kd6 is winning for White.

I lost due to poor clock-management and endgame weakness, and also appreciate when Paul beats me because it shows the lack of necessary endgame “class” or finesse, particularly at G/90, that an Expert has.

3 thoughts on “Those Durn Endgames

  1. I think keeping the position symmetrical was a key to a draw.
    After exchange on moves 31-33 it got kind of unbalanced which was good for him taking into account he had more time. You definitely need time for this kind of position.
    Also his passed pawn and strong king’s position gave him some advantage.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Paul Anderson is very good at strategical maneuvering; he might pass up on a tactic, but won’t pass up on a maneuvering move in the endgame.

Leave a Reply

