Beautiful Losses

Wednesday Round 2

I went over this game with Brian Wall after the game, and he was nice enough to flatter me and say it was the craziest game he’d ever seen.  I was feeling woozy before the game, and not in good physical shape, so that I was trying to avoid exactly the type of game that this one became.  We went over it until Brian Wall had the win for White down to a science.  I didn’t see that I was dropping my queen until after I took his rook, but I felt strangely that I might be winning since he was creating a tactic from an inferior position.  Anywhere between move 22 and 25 (for four moves) you could insert e5xf6 and White is surely winning, ++-

Well, when I am not feeling well I compensate by taking gobs of time, basically knowing that I can blunder anything back in time-pressure, which is exactly what happened.  I debated between retreating my knight and bishop, not even paying attention that the knight was hanging.  I hung it at 2:25 remaining on my clock, so you know I was in bad shape.  I could still analyze well, given all the time, but in time-pressure blitz I was hopeless.

 

Wednesday Round 3

Richard offered me a draw on move 40, but I played my next move with 52 seconds left because, as I said to him, I didn’t feel like I had gotten enough chess in yet (and the position wasn’t completely played out yet, so I kept going).

Richard is this lower rated player who can play a surprisingly nice endgame, and he’s surely at least Class A at the endgame.  I tested him once again and had that “Kasparov moment” where I just about bolted back in my chair when he played 53.g5, which I somehow never expected, but within a couple seconds realized that I was just losing.  Great endgame lesson on how to win with knight vs. bishop.  Richard is a knight-endgame magician.

Incidentally, I had tried to purge both of these games from memory by not posting them, and left the one scoresheet at Alex’s nearly 3 weeks ago, but was able to recreate the game from memory just now rather quickly.  Kind of amazing how you remember the mistakes.

Oddly enough, I didn’t offer or take any draws in these games, as if finally living up to the Bent Larsen tagline admonishment to never take a draw until you reach Master level.

 

Beautiful Dreamer

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Losses

  1. Round two game – I don’t like his Be4.
    Funny that 17. Rc8 is a mistake though winning the queen, crazy.
    You didn’t have to play exf6, 26. Bxe7 was giving you a +3 advantage.
    Taking the knight or the bishop after that makes it even worse for him.
    26. Rxe7 makes it equal. 29.Ne2 instead of losing Be3 kept it equal, too bad.
    Yes, very entertaining game.

    Round three game – it was an absolute draw and you had to accept that offer.
    Bent Larsen could say whatever he wanted, you do not have any chance to win here with this bad bishop and it is easy to play for him, no magic is necessary.
    His g5 is not winning, but your 54… Kg6 is losing, while Ke7 was keeping it equal.
    It is difficult to see, especially not having enough time to think.

    Your time management is killing you again, what can I say.

    I posted my Monday’s game.

  2. RollingPawns, thanks!

    Yeah, Daniel told me after the game Bxe7, thanks for saying on which move.

    You are right, I should have accepted the draw and was counting on him making a blunder, maybe trading pawns and then letting my king in. I told Brian Wall immediately after the game that “I stepped (put my king) on a mined square”, but even after the game didn’t know where the draw was until you just told me right now. Yes, I was walking into even more complicated positions if he does not blunder.

    After the game Paul C, Mark and Richard were even trying to show a win with just the two pawns vs two pawns, and in one variation of theirs they even kicked out my king and won from that position! Alex told me the same thing, that I should have traded minors even earlier and played for the draw then. I saw his knight and pawn moves, and part of me realizes that there is almost no such thing as an endgame because he had initiave the whole time, since I marched my king to h8 instead of f8 like Alex said I should have done. So he was able to fix my pawns on the wrong squares unless I trade. Probably should have traded all but one pawn or even all pawns on the queenside.

    It’s not even necessarily about time-management that endgame Round 3 game, it’s just as much that I was walking into an endgame that would have required a second time-control just to hold, and to figure out all of the tricky king moves, yes. Both games I basically lost on the clock, and even Richard thought I essentially lost on time (clock-pressure), although I actually resigned with 1 second left on my clock!

    Yeah, Bent Larsen didn’t have to play rated OTB games at G/90 d/5, did he? Sure, at his time-control I should probably take his advice seriously. Actually, I have a lot more regrets about my clock managment in both games than my decision to play on, which turned out to be a good learning experience for me.

  3. Ok, you know every time I had situation like yours, being upset after losing I told myself: “It is good that I do not make my living by playing chess”. 🙂

  4. I actually think the opposite now, that I could make more money by playing chess, and that it’s because of what my job does to me that I am too worn out and out of shape, and depressed to play chess. If I didn’t have a job and played in tournaments, that given a two-day tournament vs two days of work, I would make more at the chess, minus travel expenses.

    I get less upset over losing than some others. The ones that don’t care as much also get to play more, generally.

Leave a Reply

