German Engineering

Round 1

This was Round 1 of the annual Colorado Springs Championship, which has a recorded history starting in 1966 and then every year played since, but I believe Paul said it goes back to 1947.  My opponent was a German boy/young man, looked 17 or 18, and spoke with a German accent,

At some  point during the game, I remembered that the Germans/Europeans, are known for playing different than Americans, they play this very solid style, and I was thinking that this background must have influenced his style of play.

Well, my American coffee-house style was dropping that pawn on d5.  I felt the d5 pawn might go at some point, yet never saw his shot, else I may have played Na4 a move sooner than I did, and possibly even gotten in c4 to defend d5.

I think he felt the game was going to be his, saw that look in his eye, but I was too cagey and battle-hardened – the grizzled veteran – not to know that the real struggle would lie ahead.  I knew while playing that any result with an unrated player (his first rated game, if I’m not mistaken) would not affect my rating much, and so really the pressure was on him.  I also realized that I could simply drop out of the tournament with no qualms, but the turnout was grand and it’s a nice ambience being with all of our other local players there.

3 thoughts on “German Engineering

  1. Congratulations! My general impression is that you ground him down, he was under pressure all the time. Why did you play 29. Ne4, not Rxe5 or bxe5?
    More details later.

  2. Thanks, RollingPawns! 🙂

    You are right, taking on e5 would have been the practical think to do – Alex had wondered about this as well. I was still in “attack-mode” or coffee-house mode. Still imagining possibilities of g5, Nxf6 outpost, or h4, h5.

    I had managed my clock very flippantly and so didn’t take time-out to analyze whether allowing him to play Bh6…g5, BxN+ hxB would be okay or not. So that is what I was playing these “eventuality” type of moves, plus it gave him some decisions to make about not getting forked and whether to allow the minor-exchange or not (it shouldn’t have bothered him overly much if he can hold onto that extra, passed-pawn). It definitely stopped him in his tracks on the clock, and I eventually got ahead of him on the clock by the end of the game. Still, I don’t think well with this extra time and mainly continue to just react.

Leave a Reply

