The Lucky Tournament

This was Round 4 of the five round tournament on Wednesday’s this month at G/90, Inc/30.

It’s been said more than once by elite tournament winners that you also need a bit of luck to win a tournament, and this game was no exception to that rule.

I started off playing this ridiculous looking “Five and a half pawns attack”, which isn’t so great an idea against Paul perhaps, but fortune was on my side this time.

First, 13…Qa5.  I was worried about 13…e5, when my attack stands to wither away considerably.

22.Rd6?  I wanted to play 22.Nd6, which is dominating, and should lead to a win, but instead played 22.Rd6 based on a cute tactic which doesn’t work – 22…Bd7, 23.Nf6+ BxN, 24.exBf6, and not now …Qxf6??, but simply …Qe8, when I would seem to have nothing much left to show for my attack.

27.d7  I could also play 27.Bf3, and here Paul showed me …Qd8, 28.Kh1 Qb6, and then I saw after 29.d7 he has …Bf6, and Black is much better.  As it was, I sort of swindled/hookwinked him through this part, as he missed continuations where he would have been better.

34.Nxc6  Again, at the board, I felt that 34.Nxe6 was crushing after …Bd4+, 35.Kf1 (my king is now one step closer), Bb6, 36.d8(Q) BxQ, 37.NxB, and now while Black has saved his c-pawn, it will act as a shield against his own king while I round up the a-pawn, and there is one less kingside pawn to stop.  As it was, I chickened out and played the obvious continuation, which could have easily lost.  Paul made quite a few bad moves and may have even been winning had he played it right, was at least equal for Black.

4-0 is my score in this tournament as it now stands.  😀

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “The Lucky Tournament

  1. Congratulations on your win! Keep up good play.
    I will comment on your game in detail later.
    I played yesterday with a 2160 rated boy, had +1, =1, -2 score with him. Last two times I had Black, he played Scotch gambit against me, got advantage in the opening and won. So I played Petroff.
    It paid off, I had +0.5 after the opening, we traded queens. Then I made a mistake, he intercepted the initiative. Eventually he won a pawn. I still could hold it, but made a mistake in the time pressure.
    Lost on time in the lost position.

  2. Don’t worry, when are really good, this will happen:

    ” Daniel put his Queen near the enemy King and his opponent resigned, thinking it was checkmate.
    Several nearby boards pointed out that Daniel’s Queen was en prise.”
    – LM Brian Wall

    Too funny.

    Hmm, I’ve had exceptionally good results against the Scotch Gambit for some odd reason. The Petroff has that quiet reputation, but can have an open-game feel to it once the gloves drop. Scotch Gambit can become this thinking-man’s sort of game, and yet there is feel to it. Petroff, biggest mistake Black can do is not attack like crazy, after safe opening play first.

    My biggest mistake in that last drawn game was doubting myself, and not being more observant, so I wonder if that happened to you in your game as well. It’s weird how time-pressure introduces emotions, whereas that is usually not the case before time-pressure.

    I’m sorry that you ended up losing your game. Just stick with it, you were Black and that is the most demanding position to be in. Winning as Black, that’s going to be the key to making Expert, I feel. You have to roll with punches to win as Black, it seems that that is what every Expert I’ve met has brought to the table, being able to win in technical positions, which is often what Black has to do. Black almost needs to do well on the clock, just to cope with the emotional roller-coaster of going from defending to attacking to defending again.

    Thanks very much for your kudo! I will definitely aim to keep the mark high! 🙂 I need to post my quick-chess game against the Russian so that I can get your feedback, as I will play him in the final round on Wednesday as Black. A draw would win the tournament for me, but I really want to win that game. 😀

  3. 22. Nd6 is better than Rd6, but not winning, after 22… f6 23. Qe3 exf6 24. exf6 Rf8 or 24… Qh4+ you are just a bit better.
    Yeah, 27. d7 was a mistake, he simply wins that pawn later.
    32. Nb7 was a nice move. He missed a very important tempo with 42… f6?
    Then after you take his “a” pawn, it is lost for him.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s