This Week’s Calamity

Okay, so the real bad luck this week started when I was finishing my five-mile weekly jog, and just before I made it home, I kicked this one sidewalk slab, which is raised an inch higher than the other slab of sidewalk, and threw out my right achilles tendon.  There was a loud “pop”, and I felt my achilles give out completely, but there was no sudden pain.  The good news is that only sprained it, but I didn’t know this at the time, and it has been swoll up the past few days.  Actually, I skipped two days of work because of it. although I am feeling much more fine now compared to the past couple days.

Anyway, right after this happened I left to play rounds 3 and 4 four, the final ones, on Tuesday.

Round 3

The very end of this isn’t exact, since she didn’t box out my king this much, but it’s just as decisive for illustration purposes.  Honestly, I had the feeling that once the queens come off that my odds of winning would be quite high, and based on what happened in that equal-ish ending, you can probably see what I am getting at (for whomever is reading this note).

Round 4

This game, I lost the scoresheet, and so recreated it here.  The positions are right, but perhaps a move order is off, such as when …a6, a4 was played.  It’s an abysmal game as White, but it was played within ten minutes of finishing my Round 3 game, and I was completely exhausted.  This is one of the drawbacks of G/30, having another G/30 immediately after, and in chess fatigue terms, ten minutes is the next closest thing to immediate.  The other thing that I find a bit distasteful is that we have two rounds in two hours, and then hang around gabbing together for the next four hours, when we could have spent some of that time on actually playing our games.

3 thoughts on “This Week’s Calamity

  1. Round 3 – I think you relaxed too much with 28. g3 and 34. Re3 giving her back your advantage. In the end 45. Rxb5 was a mistake, as the pawn endgame was lost for you, but she didn’t play the right moves, so it became a win for you in some lines or a draw.
    Then 58. Kd5 was a losing move, instead Kd4 was a draw, she again didn’t use it.
    59… Kb3 was a losing move for her instead of 59… Ka4 winning, so again I think you could secure your win a long time before without going into these complications.

  2. Round 4 – 12. e5 looks better than d5.
    24. Nxd6 could save a draw. After 24… Red8 25. Bf4 Qe7 26. b4 Fritz thinks Black should give up back the exchange – 26… Rxd6.

  3. Round 3, yes I see the easy end-game blunder of trading rooks now, wasn’t sure how in time-pressure. Alex says it’s called “The chicken coop” having a passer on both sides, and then run over to the other side.

    Round 4, omg, I felt I should play 24.Nxd6 anyway, else the position is resignable in any event, and then his Be5 doesn’t work because takes on e5 and then Rf7 check, can’t believe I missed that – looked at Rf7 without realizing my Nd6 covers it there.

    Thank you very much for finding these errors for me, I appreciate your work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

