Tal Technique

…is what this game felt like for me when I played 22.Rc1.

8…Qd7?? A big blunder, but Black always plays …e6 before it gets to this point.

14.Qe4  Actually, Tal would have played the more precise 14.BxN, as …bxB is forced.  For example, if 14…RxB, 15.Qe5! Rc8, 16.Qb5+ Rd7, 16.Rd1 wins.

18…Rc4.  18…Ba3 doesn’t work because 19.axB RxN, 20.Rc1! forces the trade of rooks.

18.0-0 I considered strongly 18.Ke2 (as I did 0-0-0 earlier), but felt I could wither any storm even with a seemingly less precise orthodox defense, since it feeds into my style and intuition better.

19.h3?!  19.f3 is more accurate, since it doesn’t commit the h-pawn to moving.

22.Rc1  The engine may not like this move so much, but it is a solution to the position.

23…RxR.  Forced.  If 23…Rb4, then 24.Rc8+ Bd8, 25.Rd1 wins the bishop.

24…Rh3  I missed this (best) move, but it’s the only move which drags out the outcome a bit longer.

25.Bg5!  Putting the game out of reach.

Actually, my game was more about an opening blunder, but I watched Pete and Alex’s game for well over an hour after mine finished, and it was very entertaining, instructive, and educational.  Alex eventually won, but it was back and forth.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tal Technique

Leave a Reply

