Never Give Up

Round 4

I was dead lost at multiple points in this game, not playing the most accurate moves, okay playing bad moves, but I did manage to use my clock better than Pete, and thus was still able to come up with creative tries, whereas he was missing at least one easy win, such as: 35…Rc6?Ā  35.Rc7 is game-over.

Afterwards, Master Josh Bloomer and Expert Earl Wikle came up with a way to win the rook vs knight endgame for White with Rg1, then Rg5.Ā  Needless to say, I was very happy with the draw.

3 thoughts on “Never Give Up

  1. I lost as Black against Ponziani, I found it much sharper than I thought.
    Your 5… Nb8 is fine, did you consider Bc5!? ?
    Computer doesn’t like Bf5, prefers Nd7.
    Yes, in the middlegame he had good chances to win.
    The endgame is won for White, but White needs to find a right plan. The idea should be as I remember from the studies many years ago is to push out the Black’s king and be ready to sacrifice an exchange at some point.
    I am not sure that your opponent knew that or he simply didn’t have enough time.
    So your resistance paid off. šŸ™‚

  2. I did consider …Bc5 piece sac on c6 (I was really wanting a normal game though, so I could find my flaws from a normal game – I play too many weird ones). Master Josh Bloomer said that LM Brian Wall said it is the refutation of the Ponziani, but then you take on f2 with knight instead of bishop for some reason. I’d want to see it in a book or a database, but it deserves a bold try at some point.

    Thanks! šŸ™‚ Yes, my resistance paid off, but it was largely due to his lousy time-management. He had to play that endgame on the increment, but a well-timed exchange sac should have won it for him.

Leave a Reply

