Last Two Rounds Log Cabin Fever Reliever

Round 3

I spent ten minutes on this game.  Normally, Paul starts the rounds 15 minutes late, and there was a parade through town, so it took a long time to find a parking spot, and it was quite a distance away, so I had only 12 minutes on my clock when I got there.

I did see the 22.Qe3, 23.Rb6 type of idea to win the bishop, which I thought I was going to before she played 21…Rc8, but I didn’t have time to notice that Qe3 was defending the c1 square.  Stockfish lit up that I was winning a piece, so I looked at 22.Qe3 Rb8, 23.Rc1 Qxd6, then noticed Qa7 wins the piece.  This is the sort of move that I would have needed time to spot since I was wondering if I could win her bishop.

Sara offered me a draw with 2.5 minutes on my clock to 2 minutes on her clock, and the position was indeed a draw.  I wanted to play on, but decided wisdom was the better part of valor.

I told her after the game that she could have taken my e-pawn, but she decided to take my d-pawn instead.  When she played …f5, I should have played Be2…a5, f4…e4, but here also I didn’t see this in the amount of time that I spent on the move.

Round 4

After I played my last move of …Qxd4 (Mark pointed out that …Nxd4 was better since after Qg5, I have ….Rg6), I noticed that Mark’s flag had fallen.  I thought he had played his last move with a couple seconds remaining, but apparently he bit it too close.  In any case, Black is winning, and I still had three minutes remaining on my clock.  All in all, it was a good tournament and I may have won a couple of rating points, although I lost to Daniel in the First Round (he won the tournament).

4 thoughts on “Last Two Rounds Log Cabin Fever Reliever

  1. Round 3 – I like your position after the opening.
    You could play Rab1 a move earlier and get advantage.
    Yes, 22. Qe3 was a crucial move and you need time for that.
    After she lost e5 pawn it was a draw.

  2. I see what you are saying with 19.Rab1 (instead of 19.Rfe1?). I could trade on e4 and then win back the d-pawn with Rb7 it looks like. 🙂

  3. Ronud 4 – you had 16…Ng5, taking then on f3.
    I like your position after 20 moves, you have an advantage and a clear plan.
    You missed 34… Nxb2. His 36. Rf3 was a big mistake as he took a square f3 from his knight and couldn’t defend later d4 pawn.
    Computer thinks 37… Nxd4 was better, still you have a big advantage.
    Good game!

  4. Yeah, 16…Ng5! I didn’t really consider this move much, OTB, although I did look at this idea, mostly before this position. ….Ng5 is good because it changes the character of the position and keeps Black from getting too passive, which is important with this hard to defend d5 pawn.

    For a while I was worried about 12.NxNe4 followed by trading queens, but it works out alright for Black.

    I played 13…Ne6 almost instantly, but there 13…d4 is best.

    On 12…Nc5, I spent a lot of time looking at 12…g5 and 12…Bg5. I felt that 12…Bg5 was best, and it is, it was just difficult calculating the complications. The reason that 12…Nc5 worked so well is that 13.Bb3-c2 was the weak response that I was looking for.

    Yes, I never saw the c3 fork, never even considered …Nxb2 late in the game.

    Thanks for your support and comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

