Thursdays Round 1

Round 1

2 thoughts on “Thursdays Round 1

  1. What happened in this game was that I went down to 39 minutes after only 11 moves played, was going to play 12…Qd7, and then thought “What the heck? I’ll blitz him.” It worked.

    I was hoping he wouldn’t play 14.h3, which I was worried about when I made the trade of bishops on c4, but then realized he could also queenside castle, and just thought “fine, so be it, let’s see how long he can keep it up if I continue to play quickly (he had lots of time, well over an hour, typical for an opponent of mine to be in this situation).

    By the end of the game, move 30, I still had 16 minutes remaining, so I used 23 minutes for 19 moves on the back-end.

    An 1800 level player from Colorado drew Lenderman (2700) at the US Open earlier this month. Here is the game:
    http://www.chessvideos.tv/chess-game-replayer.php?id=107695

    I’ve actually beaten this 1800 player the last two times I’ve played him this year (with Black and White). It looks like Lenderman was sleep-walking through this game, not playing f4, and allowing …c4 and …Nd3 game.

    What’s interesting is that Lenderman spent only 12 minutes on the first 25 moves, then realized he had stumbled into a draw and spent 28 minutes on the last few nothing moves before apparently offering a draw. The clock can be a real weapon, OTB.

    I just looked at Atharva’s game with Stockfish and it liked 19.Bd4, but it basically agreed with what I was thinking, that there were multiple points where Lenderman should have played f4 and e5, but didn’t. It’s ironic that I gave up the Benko years ago because I know how to take it down as White, but it gives nearly every White player I run across fits and they lose to it constantly. One reason I switched to QGD many years ago is that it has this “reputation” as being a solid choice, but mostly that it was challenging me. When I played the Benko, I felt the main strategy as Black was to hope that White played like crap because it seemed pretty obvious what Black should be trying or hoping to do, with fingers crossed.

    I accidentally played 1.d4 a few weeks back (now I play it regularly online because it offers the most learning value) and got a Benko, returned the pawn with b6 sac line, and eventually played f4 and e5, crushing Black down the center. The engine said it was basically an equal position right before I did that, so I guess I know what works against it, psychologically speaking.

Leave a Reply

