City Championship – Final Round

Final Round

21…d4 is a move that I considered playing a few times, and should have played to continue to play for an advantage.  My opponent got down to 4 minutes, and I had 17, and actually finished the game with 5 minutes (played the king and pawn ending on the increment), but I still played poorly in this phase, worse than him overall.

I missed that my h-pawn was hanging, but thought it poisoned anyway.  Actually, he has 35…Ke3! instead of 35…Rh4??  The other move he was thinking of was 35…Rh8, which I felt was losing for him, and that appeared to bear out in the post-mortem.

In four of my five games from this tournament, I made an optimistic error late in the game with no calculation behind it.  Three of those games ended in losses and this one potentially could have to, if my opponent had had more time on his clock.  A loss wouldn’t have been bad for me, now that I think about it, as then I could qualify for U1800 section in December.  As it turned out, I won and my new rating is 1828, which is where it should be based on these consistent errors late in games.  It’s this everything has to be decided in the first thirty moves mentality which has to go, as a repertoire that is drawish as Black can often only be won by stretching out the game and winning it much later, perhaps sixty or seventy moves I should be prepared to play to get a win.  As it was, this one really should have petered out to a draw without the blunder from both sides.

 

 

2 thoughts on “City Championship – Final Round

  1. The rook endgame is drawn with an exact play.
    I liked how you lured him into a pawn endgame, which was lost for him.
    36… b5 was the decisive move. Good game!

  2. Thanks! 🙂 That’s exactly what I was trying to do, lure him in. I just had that feeling he might go wrong there, since he was playing okay if not ideal before then.

    Of course, during the game, instead of …Qc7, I considered …d5, or …Ne4, and then …f5. Even a …Nb4 can support a …d5 push. Engines like …Qe7 and …Qb4 at different points. There were some other key decisions. When I played …a5, I thought I would be preventing him from playing ….Nd4, but then he spent a long time on his move, and I saw he could play it (and thus get in …Nb4). I wanted to prevent ….Nb4, so …a6 instead of …a5 for example, would probably be a better place for the pawn, and I didn’t need to prevent his b4 anyway. Of course, an engine will first look at b4 for him because it is so forcing and reward him for it, but even …a6 to slow down the b-pawn should be fine. a4 just forces a knight where it doesn’t mind going too much, as far as attacking is concerned.

Leave a Reply

