Endgame Blunder…Again! (err, as per usual?)

Round 3

I played C3 Sicilian, then realized that he’s probably gonna play …e5 because he just switched to Sicilian and has probably never seen this line before.

Once again, it got positional, nearly equal, and I should have started to play for small, dare I say tiny goals. But instead, I “went for it” (when don’t I?). He calculated better than me (he’s almost a Class B player, but he beat an Expert last week, and is doing well in both tournaments this month). I got the dumb luck reward out of this deal, and soon was playing for a win.

Then he got his pawns going on kingside, vs mine on the queenside, it was a race. I bungled in time-pressure, and finally got plumb tired as he “dropped a piece”. So, I just took the piece, decided to not even bother calculating, then looked down to notice he could push a pawn. He didn’t push it.  I suppose he was trying to save this pawn-push as a threat for “later”.  He spent a solid minute before not playing …f3; my quick play had probably had an effect on his decision.  This game made me realize what fatigue can do, combined with time-pressure, late in games.

4 thoughts on “Endgame Blunder…Again! (err, as per usual?)

  1. 13. Qc2 looks like more quiet continuation.
    Move 30 – he underestimated your knights.
    Yeah, your 48. Nc6 and 50. Nxe7 ignored f3, luckily he didn’t see it.

  2. I thought about Qc2, and figured that that would be my best, most normal reply, but I couldn’t help myself with playing it too aggressively.

    I thought he might play an …e4 pawn sac to free up his bishop, which he never did either.

    I saw that 34.Rc1 Rb7, 35.Rc6 with b6 to follow looked like an easy win, but once again, because I was paired against a lower-rated opponent, tempted fate to see what would happen in the variation that I played. It’s like I just can’t help myself with the curiosity factor.

    According to the computer, my line was bad starting with Qb3, but he needed to play …Ra6 instead of …Rb8, which is sort of above our level to understand (mine and my opponents’).

    I thought about playing f4 as well. This is is sort of the obsequious line of an obscured variation that I got into with White here.

    In the game, I put my rook on b5, to think of running my king around the rook to a6, but immediately afterward, I said to Gunnar that I should have put my rook on b2, and run my king around it via b1.

    It was a nice learning game, as I try to maximize my learning for sure. 😉

Leave a Reply

