Unclear Attack in Time-Pressure

Round 2

26.Rdd3?  I played this in time-pressure, knowing it might not work, and we both missed a mate on c2, apparently.

I was 16 minutes late due to a home repair project.

The pawn sac wasn’t so great and I spent a lot of time on it, but then I played it because I had so little time that I wanted some attacking chances in time-pressure.

I suppose I am perhaps too optimistic to be a chess player.

10…h4?  I debated whether to play 11.f5 gxf, 12.Bxf e6, 13.Bd3, and thought his kingside pieces might have trouble developing, but I didn’t realize that the problem with defending f7 isn’t going away, and that it would be +-.  I figured play could continue …Bh6, but didn’t seriously consider 14.0-0! here, which puts the rook onto f1 immediately.  I sensed to play Qf6 at some point in there, but didn’t evaluate this final position of …BxBc1, 15.RxB Nh6 (thinking this is fine for Black), 16.Qf6! hitting the rook and preventing 0-0, since the Nh6 would be hanging.

Other noteworthy comments are that I got a cold from LM Brian Wall when he was down here.  Monday, I drank a bunch of coffee so that would have been a good time for me to play, but on Tuesday and today I was out of it all day, sneezing, feeling tired.  I was going to get a soda from the vending machine there, but they were out of everything, and since I lose my appetite when not well, I forgot to eat anything.  I find that the worst part about playing with a cold is that it really kills my short-term memory, I simply forget why I was going to play a line and then play something else instead.

Also, I was 1-0, Paul was 0-1, but I got paired with him because Calvin took a bye (I like how other people protect their ratings when they are not feeling well, or up for it), and Pete is a high-rated house-player, so when he doesn’t play to let Paul play it inadvertently screws with the pairings.  This month, I have played five games with 1956 player, two Experts, a Master, and a 1349 player.  I went one win and four losses, and I still got all these high-rated players.  I don’t need to point out the level of pairings manipulations in CO Springs, whether legal and understandable, it doesn’t change the fact that they are what they are.  It wouldn’t even be as bad if I knew ahead of time I was getting paired up.  This is why Saturday tournaments in California were so ideal.  You only show up when not sick, play the whole tournament, and people  don’t go in and out of the tournament like they do here a lot.

In my opinion, realistically, Master Josh (whose live rating is 2300, it’s 2297 now) should get a one point bye.  He played me because we both have half-point byes in round one, but Shirley was able to be given a zero point bye, which she didn’t even want.  So yeah, it doesn’t matter if I go there because I feel like crap, and don’t want to miss out on the experience, I still get paired with the ringer, and that’s part of my rating too.  Friday I will get paired with someone uber-low because there simply isn’t anyone high to pair me with.  Go ahead and pair me with Daniel or Mark, I’ll be more than up for it, but that’s still laughable because the bottom-half on that day is still a far larger contingent.  I’d rather be paired up now because then I can pull out of the tournament, if I lose, and simply be done with it.

We’ve gotten a lot of new players in Co Springs, but most drop out.  The ones that stick around tend to be either scholastic players (they can use experience from losses against adults to win against kids their own age), and a few stalwarts that have stuck around, still trying despite their losses and near misses.  Many of them study chess, quite a bit too, and thereby want to see results and improvement in their own play.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Unclear Attack in Time-Pressure

  1. My general impression is that you played too aggressively, maybe starting from 16. c4 because it gave him d5 square. While it might work against a lower rated player it probably shouldn’t against a strong one, especially when you are under a time pressure.
    I always try to come early for the game, because coming late is a recipe for a disaster, it looks like for you too.

  2. I left another comment in my original post. He defended well, and then was simply a pawn up, which is a recipe for a loss against Paul, especially in time-pressure which is always. Paul is at his best on Tuesday nights or nights in general, perhaps. He played in the Saturday/Sunday tournament that I played in, and he looked out of it, and lost close to fifty ratings points against lower-rated players which even I could beat.

    There’s this notion that ratings aren’t dependent on when one is at their best, but that’s false. You have to not be at your worst, that’s for sure. Also, historically chess portrays a false image because back in the day players weren’t so knowledgeable, experienced, etc. Chess is really about not losing, the best players are best because they don’t lose. Winning is dependent on your opponent having somewhat of a bad day, or simply not being able to calculate as fast, or having bad judgements.

Leave a Reply

