2nd Place, Cabin Fever Reliever

Round 3

I kept score for 32 moves, but ended up with 16 seconds so the rest is an approximation of what happened.  We played more moves than this, but I can’t recreate it, and I eventually checkmated him with queen and pawn.

I basically knew what I did wrong in this game, the moves I missed that the computer gives, I felt they were right OTB, but didn’t have time to calculate them correctly, so didn’t play them and let him equalize more, etc.  This is a drawback of the quicker time-controls.  I was late, so started this game with 40 minutes, and the next game with the full 45 minutes.

Round 4

Michael beat me last time we played, but I felt ready for him, and he played the Scotch Gambit, and rather poorly, so the game didn’t last long.  I could see what he was doing wrong, his moves, while playing OTB.  Dean almost beat a near Expert in his last round game, must have been up around +20, but just as the 1900 player dropped a piece, Dean instead of taking it dropped his own piece – talk about ratings coming through.  I had 17 minutes remaining when Michael resigned in a hopeless position (-10).  If he had continued with 21.Rf1, I was ready to whip out instantly the best move 21…e3!  He spent a long time before resigning, and I had worked out all of the plausible continuations he could throw at me.

 

2 thoughts on “2nd Place, Cabin Fever Reliever

  1. Round 3 – his whole opening play looks wrong. He gets under straight attack after castling, though not sure did he have a better choice.
    Good, energetic play from your side!

    Round 4 – I didn’t understand the purpose of his 8. e6, 8. Nxc6 was the best I think.
    By move 16 he got a very difficult to defend position.

  2. Thank you!

    In the Round 3, I should have played f4xe5 numerous times for an advantage, but it sharpens the position and makes it look more double-edged to the eye, this is why I avoided it during the game due to the shortened time-control.

    Round 4, yes, every game in the database played after the e6 pawn sac was losing for White! I figured that he had passed his last chance when he played 16.Nd2?! instead of the obvious(?) 16.c4, getting his Bb2 into the game.

    I just torched a higher rated player in blitz here:
    https://www.chess.com/live#g=2053789517

    The fascinating part about this game is that Black was practically lost by move five! This shows the power of opening knowledge when playing up. A strategically balanced middlegame can be misplayed, an ending can have opportunities mistakenly glossed over, but the opening is still the one part of the game where it can be “one and done” when it comes to making a mistake due to lack of openings knowledge.

    [ECO “C37”]
    [Event “Live Chess”]
    [Site “Chess.com”]
    [Date “2017.04.16”]
    [White “linuxguy1”]
    [Black “rousslangeo”]
    [WhiteElo “1615”]
    [BlackElo “1745”]
    [TimeControl “300+5”]
    [Result “1-0”]
    [Termination “linuxguy1 won by resignation”]
    [CurrentPosition “k6r/2QR1p1p/1pp3qn/8/2B5/8/PPP3P1/2K5 b – – 9 25”]

    1.e4 e5 2.f4 exf4 3.Nf3 g5 4.Bc4 d6 5.h4 Bg4 6.d4 Qe7 7.Nc3 c6 8.hxg5 Bxf3 9.Qxf3 Qxg5 10.Bxf4 Qg6 11.O-O-O Nd7 12.d5 O-O-O 13.dxc6 bxc6 14.Ba6+ Kb8 15.Na4 Nb6 16.Nxb6 axb6 17.e5 Bh6 18.exd6 Rxd6 19.Rxd6 Qxd6 20.Bxh6 Nxh6 21.Rd1 Qe6 22.Qf4+ Ka7 23.Bc4 Qg6 24.Qc7+ Ka8 25.Rd7 1-0

Leave a Reply

