The most dangerous position for me to be in on a chessboard

….is an equal position in time-pressure, particularly as Black, unless it’s a Master and then the color doesn’t matter.

Round 2

After 30.Qf4, I thought “How does this stop me from playing 30…Ng6 and 31…Ne5?”, so I played the move, and didn’t even notice that my pawn was hanging until he quickly took it.  After the game (we only went over it verbally), I said “why didn’t I play 30….Re5(?).  I didn’t play it because I wanted the knight on that square.  The best I had was 30…Re5 followed by 31…Ng6, that’s as far as the knight can get, and it’s equal.  I felt I lost this game solely due to not being able to spot a threat quickly enough in time-pressure.  Move 30, a notorious move number for blunders.

In time-pressure, I stopped blind-folding the position, and made an easy to spot visual error.  I have been throwing away too many games as Black in equal positions, and this has been the death-knell of my rating.

This is where online and classical tournament chess are different.  When it comes to errors in slow-chess it’s often “one and done”.  Online chess teaches you to trade blunders, and he who blunders last loses.  If you can’t hold your pieces and pawns, by not dropping them, then all the chess knowledge in the world can’t save you.  I think that people blunder in endgames even more because the threats aren’t so immediately forced, and there are a lot more of them.  Regardless, it is the time-pressure combined with an inefficient thinking habit that allows pieces or pawns to drop.  This time, all it took was a pawn to put me in a losing position, even though I didn’t play well afterward either.

 

4 thoughts on “The most dangerous position for me to be in on a chessboard

  1. It was quite an equal game until move 30.
    I would probably play 22… Nh5 or 22… f6 to prevent his f6.
    It is difficult position to play after the blunder, with or without queens.

  2. Well, my attack was on the kingside, and so I was wary of his f6 push, but had convinced myself that it wouldn’t be so good for White. I was surprised when/that he played it, and also surprised by quite a few other moves that he made, such as the 30.Qf5 move, giving me a chance to make that simple blunder in my time-pressure. I think he was committing to low-risk plans and moves, and then backing off when I responded correctly, as sort of a game strategy.

    I spent a long time, too much time, on …Rad8, should have gone with the other rook. I feel a big part of the sin of omission in this game was not attacking the queenside, particularly early, before …b6 .., ..Qa5 could have been strong, and I had also spent time but chose to not play the strong intermezzo …Be4 in the opening, when really I should have been pushing the play on the queenside and center. I played as well as I did on the kingside because that is where I have more expertise. Still, it came to nothing.

    Once I spent a long time on which rook to move to the center, he changed his strategy, I believe to playing me more on the clock, even though he was seeing as much as someone his rating would see, I feel he was intentionally not pressing in order to work the clock to his advantage later in the game. In tournament chess, the result is based on the result, I mean it doesn’t matter what they have to do to win, if it wins and doesn’t lose, then that is what the rating becomes based on. I would need to be a better attacker to win with the way I played (mindset), but his strategy is to play super-solid defense, and gain the clock advantage (mindset). When neither player is a clearly superior attacker, then his strategy prevails. I should adopt some of his strategy more, and be a better defender.

    22…g6 came into strong consideration. …f6 is not a move I wanted to make. …Nh5 is more a move that a natural defender would chose. I played ..Re8 to prepare …d5 and get some attacking, or at least active prospects going.

    My blunder was that I forgot to look at the drawbacks of the move. I’ve improved at looking at pawn-moves as drawbacks, but didn’t realize I needed more work with knight drawback moves. In time-pressure, as I told Alex, I stopped visualizing, as I usually do in time-pressure, and the best reason to visualize actually (by not looking at the board) is that it quickly spots drawbacks that you don’t see when you rely on letting one’s eyes quickly scan the board.

  3. I was very interested in playing 22…g6, and then saw the refutation of g3 followed by Qxh6, which is also why 22…f6 can’t be played, Houdini reminded me of this. You also would have easily spotted this threat, OTB, and I can see you playing 22…Nh5, which is solid and equal.

  4. Just played a crazy Spanish Open Defense game. One of the few times I’ve gotten a monster position out of the opening as Black. At first, I thought his line was winning.

    https://www.chess.com/live#g=2055277297

    [Event “Live Chess”]
    [Site “Chess.com”]
    [Date “2017.04.17”]
    [White “Nomentalfunction”]
    [Black “linuxguy1”]
    [WhiteElo “1664”]
    [BlackElo “1634”]
    [TimeControl “300+5”]
    [ECO “C81”]
    [Result “0-1”]
    [Termination “linuxguy1 won by resignation”]
    [CurrentPosition “rnbqkbnr/pppppppp/8/8/4P3/8/PPPP1PPP/RNBQKBNR b KQkq e3 0 1”]

    1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bb5 a6 4.Ba4 Nf6 5.O-O Nxe4 6.d4 b5 7.Bb3 d5 8.dxe5 Be6 9.Qe2 Be7 10.Rd1 Qd7 11.c4 bxc4 12.Bxc4 Na5 13.Bxa6 O-O 14.Nbd2 Nc5 15.Bd3 Nxd3 16.Qxd3 c5 17.b3 Nc6 18.Bb2 Nb4 19.Qb1 Bf5 20.Qc1 Nxa2 21.Rxa2 Rxa2 22.Nc4 Qb5 23.Ne3 Be4 24.Nxd5 Bxd5 25.Rxd5 Qxb3 26.Rd2 Rfa8 27.h3 c4 28.Nd4 Qb6 29.Nf5 Bb4 30.Bd4 Bxd2 31.Bxb6 Bxc1 0-1

Leave a Reply

