Early Resignation

Round 3

My eyes lit up when Calvin played 17…f6??

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the game was the early resignation.  After 24.Rh6, at first I intended 24…Qc3, 25.Rxh7+ RxRh7, 26.QxRh7+ Nf7, 27.BxNf7 QxNb3 and here I sort of stopped my analysis to see if there wasn’t a more direct mate.  When Calvin resigned, I was still looking at 27.RxNf7+ BxRf7, 28.QxNf7+ Kd8, 29.Qf8+ Kc7, 30.Qe6+, so I showed him that line, and said “is that mate?” (it’s a 0.0 perpetual after 30…Kb7) We both thought it was mate, although he had thought I was going to play the line which actually does lead to mate, 27.BxNf7.

I believe that I would have actually played correctly by taking on f7 with the bishop, but I probably would have been down to 9 minutes by the time I would figure out the position and play it, whereas I was only down to maybe 18 minutes when he resigned.  Winning a won position is one of the hardest things because there are many junctures where one can easily get sidetracked.

Even at this hypothetical 9-minute-point, the best I would have come up with would have been 27.BxNf7 (or BxBf7) QxNb3, 28.BxBe8+ KxBe8, 29.Rf7 which does win because Black has to sacrifice queen for rook to stop the mate, and then White will also have a passed g-pawn.  It was as if he didn’t give up on the original line, calculating it ’til mate, whereas my analysis was to hop around a bit whenever I got stuck, which is more my style; sometimes I will calculate a line all the way through, but often during a move I will base the move on a patchwork of analysis, which is not the ideal way to play, but also lets me examine more lines.

2 thoughts on “Early Resignation

  1. Good game.
    Yeah, f6 was really bad.
    22…Qc7 was game losing mistake, there was a nice combination:
    23. Rxe6 Kxe6 24. Qf5+ Ke7 25. Qf6+ Kd7 26. Nc5+ bxc5 27. e6+ Kd6 28. dxc5#
    If 23… Kd7 then 24. Qf5 Bxh5 25. Rc1

  2. That’s basically blindfolding it, one way or the other, and a very nice find! 26.QxRh8 BxB, 27.Qg7+ in that line only wins a pawn and trades more pieces. It was important to find that entire mate line. In the other line, after 25.Rc1 it’s easy to see the trade of rook for queen after discovery or possibly checkmating again. See, and play a line like that OTB relatively quickly, and you will easily be Expert for sure! 🙂

    Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

